We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Arms

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Norfolk Arms
Norfolk Square, Glossop, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 55 restaurants in Glossop
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Really nice pub restaurant which we found through the Hi Life Diners Club scheme - I've noted their website for info as I don't think the restaurant has one of their own.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Lovely food.
Good value.
I go about once a month.
Only thing they reserve tables during the day for customers at night.
I have seen this many times & no one sits on them - why?
These tables could clearly be being used it's silly.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    12
    19
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Took the hubby here for a few drinks and meal for his birthday.
Lovely pub nice beers and the restraunt part is very nice.
We both enjoyed our meals but would say if i had a burger there agin would ask for proper chips rather than the skinny fries as they werent too nice tbh, but apart from that was all lovely and very friendly staff on both the bar and in the restraunt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After the arrival of Wetherspoon, we, as regulars, noticed a drop in clientele at Norfolk Arms. By changing the deals we hope that they will become more competitive so that it will still draw in enough people to keep the place going. The food is good and the prices reasonable yet I feel that in order to keep up with Wetherspoon it may be wise to make further adaptions and offer better deals to stay alive. After all the atmosphere is better and cozier and also in the bar where one can watch a game of footy from time to time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Norfolk Arms is what you would expect from a town pub. We choose to dine here as we were staying at the local travelodge. The service was very good, the waitresses were attentive and very friendly. We had our five month old son with us and we were immediately offered a high chair for him. The food is what you would expect from a pub menu. We had mushrooms in stilton with garlic bread for starter and it was absolutely delicious, would highly recommend. I had the gammon steak and my partner had sirloin steak and they were both cooked to perfection. We both had desserts also, but the malteser cheesecake i had, although yummy, was just too big and i ended up leaving half of it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice comfortable town centre pub. Food is typical pub stuff, nothing really to get excited about, but the Holts beer is generally good. Well worth a visit for a pint of this unusual beer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norfolk Arms also viewed

Glossop, Derbyshire
Glossop, Derbyshire
 
Glossop, Derbyshire
 

Been to Norfolk Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.