We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
Save
You added The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House to your Saves list
102 Church Street | Old Glossop, Glossop SK13 7RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Glossop B&B and Inns
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Initially booked for one night for a business stay and ended up staying for three. Rooms are comfortable and modern, landlord Mark worked very hard to make sure I had everything I needed and the restaurant served up consistently delicious meals with good service times. Mobile reception dips in and out in the rooms but it's not something the pub can be faulted for since the walls are so thick. All in all a pleasurable stay, If I'm in the area again I'll definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: Room 1 gets the best wifi since it's directly above the bar where the router is! Downside is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very friendly and helpful hosts. The room was spotless, very spacious and comfortable with a large modern ensuite. This is a lovely traditional pub with friendly regulars. It is only a short walk to the Town centre and only a £2.80 taxi ride back. It was our first trip to Glossop and we look forward to returning as we had a great week-end. We would highly recommend staying at the Bulls Head.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

On the first of March I was able to eat my first Non Halal curry in a restaurant outside London
It was delicious.
On the 4 th of March I returned when the new landlord Mark, Landlady Anna and young family took over.
The beer was excellent as usual and I was able to have another non halal curry served with full trimmings in the tap room.
You may be saying so what,
but like all three pubs in Old Glossop you are able to get full service in the bar areas where you can take your dogs and eat at the same time.
The other new innovation at the Bull is that the new owners as well as running a dog friendly pub, now by arrangement are able to offer dog friendly overnight accommodation.
I am looking forward to my next visit to see what further innovations and improvements they make in the near future.

Room Tip: The rooms are all to a very high standard. The front rooms look out over the village and Glossop Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went for a meal with my nephew as he was passing through on his way back to Canada. Lovely open wood fire, felt so welcoming and cosy even though we were the only people dining there when we arrived.

The meal was tasty, not huge portions, just right. My North Indian garlic curry was delicious.

My only negative comment...and I made this known last time I ate here, was the overpowering smell of the cleaning spray they use on the tables which is really strong. Fix this please....you only need to spray with a weak solution of whatever youre using.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I say Poor George becasue it appears he was left in the lurch by the previous tenant Landlords who left just recently. The Brewery (Owners) had sent George to run the place the day i arrived. He was only in the Door and i arrived to stay. Anyway, he coped admirably and did well. The place is an Old Coach House. Rooms are well decorated and comfortable. Wee things let it down. No Towels in the Shower Room. No Cup in the Room for a Coffee. A pillow had no cover on it. It just needs a Womens touch really. He made the breakfast for me and it was fine. Albeit a bit greasy. This could be a great place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a guest house. The Indian restaurant in the pub below is out of this world. 5* I could not fault the bulls head. The accommodation is wonderful the breakfast just perfect. Venture down stairs to the bar and the hand pulled bitter is just the best.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at The Bulls Head Glossop for a total of 3 weeks.Area is absolutley beautiful,its an amazing suprise whats inside this well preserved English pub and resturant,Barbara and her team make you feel so welcome and nothing is a problem,The rooms are of beautifully decorated and cleaned to a very high standard plus you will experience en suite bathrooms with showers to die for (wish my shower at home maintained that power and temp ).
There is adequate parking facilities adjacent to the pub.
And of course the traditional indian resturant offers the highest level of cuisine in the area,plus many other meals to cater for every need.
It is greatt value for money all round and i would always stay there or recommend anybody stay there who is visiting the area.
Many Thanks Barbara,Andy Milne. North East Lincolnshire

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House

Address: 102 Church Street | Old Glossop, Glossop SK13 7RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House Glossop, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.