We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish & relaxing and a very friendly cat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holmefield Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holmefield Guesthouse to your Saves list
Holmefield Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stylish & relaxing and a very friendly cat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Luxurious bedrooms - we stayed downstairs in the stable annexe - and very friendly service. Although the guest house is located on a fairly main road, it is not noticeable when you are there and it makes it easy to get to Chatsworth, Bakewell and other places in the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I booked this Guesthouse for my Partner's birthday and we stayed for one night in the Chatsworth Suite 24.03.10. It was absolutely superb with a claw foot bath in the room overlooking countryside, antique king size bed and a separate shower room.
The hospitality shown by the owners was welcoming, friendly and made us want to return again. It is easy to travel into Matlock Bath and in although on a main road you would not know this as we found it to be peaceful and were not botheres at all by the traffic.
My partner and I would highly recommend this Guesthouse to one and all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We have just arrived home from our stay at Holmefield Guest House and would just like to say what a fantastic stay we have had!! We were made to feel very welcome by Kate and Geoff.

I found the place to be charming and full of character, for me it has been the perfect romantic retreat.

The room was beautifully presented, clean and comfortable.

The main house has a guest lounge with a welcoming open fire which is just perfect for cold winter evenings. We would certainly recommend this guest house to anybody wanting a country get away and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We arrived on a dark wet November evening and we received a very warm welcome. We were shown to our room which was lovely and met up with our friends who were staying upstairs. My husband being 6"4 struggled with a light fitting that was hung in the middle of the room and I lost count of the number of times he banged his head, so tall people beware! The room was beautiful, but a little cramped with 2 chairs being placed in it, the bathroom also was rather cramped,

I have to commend Kate and Geoff for supplying us with 2 bottles of wine for when we arrived back and I thought we had found the perfect place to conrinually meet up, until breakfast.

The buffet choice was rather limited, we had a glass of orange juice each which emptied the jug and it was refilled and put onto a new group of guests table so we could not have anymore. We were handed menus and chose our breakfast and were left with the menus. The waitress throughout scowled at us. The food arrived and we had to put the menu on the floor to make room for the food. The kipper was ok, I prefer the non-filleted ones as you know they're fresh, this one was quite bland. I would have said it was just us who were scared of the waitress until the other guests in the room asked us if we'd like a coffee as they were too scared to asked the waitress for a top up. We served ourselves as seemed ut as the only way we were going to get a top up. After 10 minutes of finishing our food our plates had not been cleared, despite the waitress continually popping back into the room so we didnt have space to get anything from the buffet. At a 5* establishment I do expect a little more choice than melon and grapefruit or cereal.

Sadly it was the breakfast that made a lasting impression and soure what had been a lovely stay. I must point out it was neither Geoff or Kate that served us and it was very well placed for visiting Chatsworth and surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed with my elderly parent and Kate and her team couldn't have looked after us any better. Stayed in the stable block across from the main house which was 'on the flat' The room was spotless and they were the most comfortable beds I have slept away from home. Kate and her team were really friendly and nothing we asked for was too much trouble. Will definately be booking in at the Holmefield next time are staying at Matlock.

Stayed July 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We spent 3 nights at this delightful guest house in The Chatsworth bedroom. It was exceptionally clean, luxuriously furnished with the most breathtaking views over the Derbyshire countryside, especially from the slipper bath! Kate (the owner) was a superb hostess and a wonderful cook. It was like stepping back in time, with pre dinner drinks (complimentary) on the terrace and coffee in the comfort of the lounge with an open fire. After exploring the delights of the locality, walks across the fields along the Derwent river to see the local Steam Train service, the delights of Chatsworth (even in the pouring rain) and, for anybody with an interest in the Elizabethan era, Hardwick House is a "must-see" with the most comprehensive herb garden I've ever visited, our 3 course dinners were very well recieved! It was good home cooking with quality produce all sourced locally. It was so good that my husband and I stopped off at the Chatsworth Farm on our way home to stock up! The best bit was relaxing in the slipper bath with a glass of chilled white wine, gazing at the view through a fully open sash window with music gently playing from the i-pod docking system (provided in the room)! The worst bit was saying goodbye! We will definitely return, and recommend this guest house to any discerning traveller!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed at Holmefield in late March 2009. The owners Geoff and Kate were very friendly and willing to help when necessary, they were also accomodating of my wife's dietry requirements.
We stayed in the loft room of the converted coach house which was really well laid out, had all mod-cons and was tastefully decorated. The i-pod docking station was a nice addition to the room.

Breakfast was served in the main house and was very nice, the house is tastefully decorated in keeping with the age and period of the property.

The guesthouse is well situated for short trips into the Peak District and outlying towns and villages such as Bakewell and Matlock Bath. Chatsworth is a scenic 10mins drive away.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmefield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holmefield Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holmefield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Holmefield Guesthouse Darley Dale, Matlock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmefield Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.