We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holmefield Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holmefield Guesthouse to your Saves list
Holmefield Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“3* at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Booked this guesthouse for a quiet weekend away. Rest quality can only be described as shocking. Significant noise past 0230. The room was pleasant enough but basic. It would have been nice if the previous guests underwear had been removed in advance.

Food quality was very average with breakfast served by an extremely grumpy member of staff.

Checked out a day early. Even though we paid by debit card we were still charged the additional 3% for creditcard transactions. I questioned this but it seems maths was not a strong subject.

Overall the owners seem like a nice couple out of their depth. Very average 3* B&B. Would not come again.

CANNOT RECCOMEND.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are sorry you had a disturbed nights sleep on one of your nights with us caused by some high spirited guests enjoying their weekend, this is not the norm and we did apologise to you personally on the following morning and gladly do so again on this worldwide web page. However, we have to dispute very strongly some of the quite frankly rude and personally insulting comments within your review. Firstly you were highly delighted with your luxury room upon arrival and admired the four poster beds, views to die for and the featured roll top bath, hardly 3 star basic room as suggested in your review. If you could enlighten me as to which 3 star establishments have features such as these, I will stand corrected. You next state that we are hopeless at maths, how on earth do you think we manage to run a business, fill in tax returns, annual figures and V.A.T. Your bill was worked out perfectly correctly and when you queried it with Geoff he explained the only addition was for your meal and wine which you enjoyed the previous evening. You were not charged 3% for using a credit card and he took great pains to explain this to you when queried. Your final comment regarding our ability to run a business is the final insult and is far too personal a comment to make on Tripadvisor.
I feel on reflection you didn't have a good nights sleep on your second evening and in view of the weather the following morning, heavy rain and thunderstorms have used this as an excuse to leave early without paying for the additional night you booked, leaving us with a spare room on a Saturday night and also having enjoyed the additional discount offered for a three night stay, still as you say, we are rubbish at maths!
We do feel that when people use Tripadvisor they should try to leave a balanced review, this one is wholly negative and is not a true reflection of how we perceived you felt prior to your disturbed sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed 2 nights on a groupon deal, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location, with lots of walking opportunities and pretty villages to visit. We chose it as we were visiting Chatsworth, which is a short drive away and so it was very convenient for this. The house is on a main-ish road, but even though our room was at the front of the house we slept well. The views out the back from the breakfast room are wonderful. Our room was clean and well appointed with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was great, although I personally would have liked to have seen a continental option e.g. croissants on the menu. Overall, I would definitely recommend Holmefield.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having been let down by another B&B establishment on our wedding anniversary, the Holmefield Guest House in Darley Dale was a perfect place to stay for our special occasion. We were greeted with friendliness by Kate and shown to a lovely room No. 3 overlooking beautiful countryside. The guest house is tastefully furnished and has a lot of character with great views. There is a comfortable sitting room with scenic views and the breakfast was excellent. The establishment is close to Matlock, Steam Railway and beautiful walks along the river Derwent. We will definitely be recommending this Guest House to others and will return ourselves sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Room 3 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. We were delighted to have met you both and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

After being badly let down at a nearby hotel 5 years ago Geoff and Kate managed to squeeze us in and saved our holiday. What a lucky find , it is excellent in every way and now Geoff and Kate are classed as friends and we feel part of rhe family . We have been visiting every year since and have already booked for next year . Nothing is too much trouble and all needs are catered for. Everything is immaculate. The hotel did us a favour , we found a much better place and good friends. Please keep going.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you both for your lovely, kind comments. It was a real pleasure to welcome you both back to Holmefield, we thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and glad you liked the improvements to the Chatsworth suite. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My partner and I were booked into another 3 star hotel in the Peak District area over the weekend of the 28th Feb/1st March. However, the Hollin Hall Hotel fell far below the standards advertised and a quick phone call to Kate and Geoff at Holmefield Guest House soon resolved the issue. Luckily Geoff managed to squeeze us in at very short notice. A short while later we arrived at Holmefield Guest House where we found a very warm welcome, and a clean, tidy, warm and luxurious room awaiting. The breakfast selection is first class, the surroundings beautiful and the owners and staff very friendly and accommodating. Holmefield Guest House is sure to please. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are first class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to Holmefield, and again we were not disappointed. Kate and Geoff offer a warm welcome, great service, high quality comfortable clean rooms, and freshly cooked food.
We stayed this time in the Haddon room, which has great views, as does the homely lounge, with its log fire.
We will definately be visiting Holmefield again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. It was wonderful to see you both again, thank you for the photos, we will frame them for your next visit. It was a pleasure to share our home with you and your friends. Hope to see you again soon when you can road test the new executive suite!
Kind Regards
Kate & Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

when you stay at a hotel in winter, you want it to be warm and draughtfree- this was perfect!
We had one of the basic rooms, which was a little small but was adequate. It was very clean and warm with a lovely comfy bed and nice ensuite. Probably one of the cleanest rooms we've stayed in.
We had a meal on our second night which was very nice homecooked. They seem to have thought of almost everything, even bathrobes in the bathroom. Breakfast is cooked to order and it came nice and hot. My husband thought the portions were a little small ( he has a big appetite !) I'm sure they would have given him more if he asked.
The glass of wine with dinner was a little expensive at £5.50 a glass, but a bottle is only £15.50, the inclusive meal does not include a dessert or coffee. The menu is quite small but it had plenty on to satisfy us, quite nice choice of starters and mains, they do desserts at an extra cost.
it is a great location for Bakewell, Matlock, Chatsworth etc. we nneded a meal on our first night and had a suggestion of the very nice indian restaurant just over 10mins walk, which was very very nice, a little high in price but well worth it.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms would be nice- if you like space, don't go for the small basic rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmefield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holmefield Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holmefield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Holmefield Guesthouse Darley Dale, Matlock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmefield Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.