We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barringtons

Barringtons
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Barringtons to your Saves list
Barringtons
Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2FT, England (Formerly Whitworth Park Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just ate here, didn't stay - Nice food in a pleasant dining area. Bit smarter menu and surroundings than your average local pub but not much difference in price so good for a couples night out. Handy for car parking and a walk around Whitworth park so also good for a lunchtime meet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

originally booked as we should have been going white water rafting which was cancelled due to water levels. so we still decided to attend rather than loose our money.we arrived quite late on saturday evening around 7.45,room was very nice.we had a very good meal,2 steaks and a bottle of wine £26. breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited Barringtons on three occasions while staying at a self catering cottage at Darwin Lakes and were never dissapointed. The menu offered a good choice of food which when served was beautifully presented and very tasty. Staff friendly, helpful and hardworking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Barringtons hosted our wedding reception at the end of July 2013 and we could not speak more highly of Barringtons and all the staff. Excellent service, a very patient and kind General Manager. The reception was delivered exactly as we wanted and the food was excellent. We had a ball. Thank you Barringtons for all your hard work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had gone to Barringtons for lunch one day in February this year when staying in Matlock (very nice- Sid's Cottage), and were so impressed we came back in August for a 3 day holiday, arriving Sunday and leaving Weds., and which was very good value. Came by bus which is very easy, and we were very pleased with the whole experience. The staff were very welcoming and efficient, and our room was massive (room 5) facing the front. There is plenty of traffic, but the hotel is far enough from the road that the noise is unobtrusive, even with the window open. Lots of choice for breakfast and very well cooked. We had one evening meal, which was well cooked pub food. Bar prices were reasonable, and there was some very nice real ale. Only one very slight niggle, our mattress had seen better days being very saggy, however we slept fairly well despite that (long walks helped!). The hotel is very handy for walking on the east side of the peak district, we did the Monsal Trail from Bakewell and also directly across the hill to Cromford and from there back to Matlock via Riber Castle (very disappointing, you can't get into it and no refreshments nearby)

Room Tip: We had room 5 which has the Queen sized bed and is large enough to have two easy chairs as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were staying up the hill at Darwin Lake in a self catering cottage, and came here twice in 3 days as the first meal was exceptionally good, second time around was just as good. Good choice of beers and great wine list, enough choices to suit most...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Commandeered 4 of the hotels rooms for my daughters wedding next door at the Whitworth centre.My daughter had the largest room with a beautiful window seat ideal for the photographer to take his posing shots.The hotel very kindly left us alone all day whilst we had beauty and hair specialist in and out and all the family milling about all day .That told everything else about the hotel was excellent lovely breakfast .Just one fault on the Friday night there was a singer on and it was a bit noisy but it finished at 11.30 so not too bad all told lovely stay .

Room Tip: Room 1 as a lovely window seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barringtons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2FT, England (Formerly Whitworth Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Barringtons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barringtons Darley Dale, Matlock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barringtons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.