We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cottage - Perfect Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riding House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riding House Farm
Save
You added Riding House Farm to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Derbyshire | Squires Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage - Perfect Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

At last finally got round to doing a review after our fifth visit to the Milkmaids Cottage at Riding House Farm.

We cannot praise this accommodation highly enough - immaculately presented with all you need for a home from home feel. The location is fantastic with beautiful views all round. A short walk into Castleton itself with plenty of pubs & eateries should you not want to cook. Also, idealy located for great local walks straight from your door or just a short drive to the dams or Chatsworth House just to mention two of the local attractions.

Our hosts, David & Denise, are now good friends and we love to listen to the farm goings on from David and join him in feeding the lambs and calves, and collecting freshly laid eggs.

Can't wait for next years visit.... :-)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We have just returned from a most wonderful week in the Peak District staying in Milkmaid's Cottage at Riding House Farm cottages. The two cottages, Milkmaid's and Shepherd's, are converted farm buildings on a working farm set in a stunning situation under Losehill about a mile from Castleton. There is wonderful walking from the door and lovely views all around.
David and Denise who farm at Riding House are lovely. They are friendly and welcoming and always happy to chat and show you the farm (I cuddled a gorgeous little lamb). We were welcomed by a bottle of wine, a box of chocs and fresh flowers in the cottage which was a lovely surprise. The cottage itself is wonderful. A kitchen with everything you could possibly need, two beautifully clean bathrooms, and a stunning bedroom with a huge, incredibly comfortable bed.
Despite being a working farm, it is peaceful and quiet and a wonderfully relaxing place. There is loads of wildlife and birdlife around including hares and badgers(we saw a badger virtually every night) and cows, sheep, lambs and hens to get close too.
There is superb walking in the Peak District but, even if you're not a walker, there's loads of other things to do.
We have stayed in many lovely places but this one is very special indeed and we can't wait to return later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We have just returned from another fantastic week in the peak district, staying at Riding Farm Cottages for the 3rd time! Denise & David are soooo nice and their warm welcome is very refreshing. The cottages are perfect, homely and very comfy. The farm is lovely, the views spectacular and the lambs an extra bonus!! There is a lot of activites in the area, from hiring bikes; walking the hills; many caverns to explore along with castles/houses...... the list is endless!! Great base for the area, off the beaten track and lot's of fun!! Wow it's awesome - just book it right now!! :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Not only is this a delightful place, the owners were really helpful. It was clean and comfy. The village has a number of decent pubs and there's loads of walking in spectacular peak district countryside. Absolutely fantastic

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

Riding House Farm (near Castleton) has two cottages--we stayed three nights in Milkmaid's Cottage, which has two storeys, with kitchen, living room and full bathroom downstairs, and a large bedroom with superking bed ('king size' to Americans) and another full bathroom upstairs.

The cottage was genuinely comfortable (the bathrooms were modern and sparkling clean) with antiques upstairs. The setting, a working farm with sheep and beef cattle, was very quiet (and very far back off the main road, so ask for directions or you'll get lost like us).

The owners, Denise and David (whose house is attached to the cottages), were too nice for words. We found a welcome card and a complimentary bottle of wine and box of chocolates in the cottage, and Denise came over two days later on my birthday and gave me a birthday card (I briefly mentioned my birthday when checking in). She and David also rescued my husband when he broke his tooth by sending us to their dentist (who saw my husband immediately). Denise sent us a thank-you card for our stay after we got home. No one's ever done that before!

The cottage was £30 a night less expensive, and a lot more luxurious, than 'posh' hotels in Buxton and Bakewell (and cheaper than most B & Bs we considered in the Peak District).

David directed us to a public trail behind the farm that took us along the ridge between the Hope and Edale Valleys. Getting to the ridge is a very (!) steep climb, but the views were fabulous and the walk along the ridge to Mam Tor very easy, with great views of Peveril Castle too.

Skip the Castleton pubs and eat at the George Hotel in Hathersage (three-course gourmet meal for £16 a person if you go between 6:30 & 7:30pm). Also talk to David about the state of British farming--my husand and I learned more from him in an hour than from years of reading newspaper reports.

Bolsover Castle, Haddon Hall and Hardwick Hall (by far the best) are worth a visit, but we thought Chatsworth House was too commercial (and expensive). But the views (especially around Castleton and Hathersage) are the real reason to visit the Peaks.

  • Liked — genuine kindness of the hosts
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riding House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riding House Farm

Address: Derbyshire | Squires Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Castleton
Hotel Class:5 star — Riding House Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hope Valley is an ideal base for exploring the treasures of the Peak District. In addition to the wonderful scenery, there are numerous attractions including nearby Castleton caves and castle, Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and the plague village of Eyam. If you have any energy left after walking the hills, the Hope Valley offers climbing, cycling, pony trekking, swimming, angling, gliding and parascending. Or why not just relax! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riding House Farm Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riding House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.