We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly and very clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rambler's Rest Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rambler's Rest Guest House
Save
You added Rambler's Rest Guest House to your Saves list
Back Street | Millbridge, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Castleton B&B and Inns
Doncaster
1 review
“Excellent location, friendly and very clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

This B&B was taken over the first week of December 2009 and you can tell as the previous reviews of the place being dusted and outdated no longer apply. The owners are working their way around renovating the whole place and the rooms that have been done are amazing and even the ones that are due to be renovated next have got lovely crisp white bed linen, fluffy towels that you would love at home and deluxe tolietries in the ensuites. The breakfast was superb with piping hot plates and food that was cooked to perfection.The new owners are very friendly and very accomodating. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
133
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

we stayed at the ramblers rest last monday, and what a shame we only had one night there! it was so welcoming,clean,warm and extremley freindly. my family and i felt extremely content here. the rooms were lovely,the owners were exellent,really helpful and freindly. we are definatley going back 5++++ from all of us

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Been to Ramblers Rest twice a year for the last four year Mary is a very good host and cant do enough for you.Very central ,may be a bit basic but its got everything you need after a good days walking.Give it a go you wont be disappointed with The Ramblers or Castleton.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

The place is a little dated, it is basic but funcational. We didnt have an ensuite room which was a shame, but we knew that when taking the room. Mary was pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was the shining light of the place. Would go again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKFELL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Stayed here for two nights in August.Room was a bit dated and a mismatch of furniture and a bit dusty,could have done a lot more to improve the room.Seem to take people for granted as long as they are booking rooms,mind you breakfast was ok.The guest house overall is tired and old and has seen better days.Castleton itself is well worth a visit plenty of bars and nice food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rambler's Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambler's Rest Guest House

Address: Back Street | Millbridge, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rambler`s Rest Guest House Hotel Castleton
Rambler's Rest Guest House Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rambler's Rest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.