We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality b and b” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rambler's Rest Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rambler's Rest Guest House
Save
You added Rambler's Rest Guest House to your Saves list
Back Street | Millbridge, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Castleton B&B and Inns
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“good quality b and b”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

have just returned from a two night stay at the ramblers rest.
the owners, Claire and Robbie are very friendly and helpful.
good location in the center of the village.
great high walled parking area across from the property.
breakfasts were very nice.
our room, number 3, was very small but had character.
both the en suite and the room were spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
133
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Wow is how I would describe the Rambler's Rest Guest House. Claire & Robbie could not do enough for us. The accommodation was excellent, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious every morning. Thank you Claire for even sorting out my very muddy clothes.

The location is also perfect for visiting Castleton and the surrounding areas.

Thank you both for a lovely stay and see you both very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were so pleased to have chosen the Ramblers Rest for our weekend break in Castleton. We wanted somewhere that would accept our dog and Room 5 was absolutely perfect It was a good size room and had it's own access onto the street which was ideal. The accommodation was clean and cosy. Nice big comfy bed. Breakfast was very enjoyable and set us up nicely for our long walk. The owners Claire and Robbie were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. They kindly booked a table on our behalf to ensure we were not left disappointed for our evening meal at the 1530 restaurant. The location is perfect and just a short stroll from the Main Street with it's restaurants, pubs and shops. And also is well placed to start one of the many walks around the area. The off street parking was very handy too. We have no hesitation in staying here again and already planning when we can return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent location, comfortable rooms although not en-suite but bathroom was right across the hall. Lovely, friendly owners who were very knowledgeable about the area as it was our first time here in Castleton. It was just what the doctor ordered!
Oh and breakfast was stunning. highly recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After the glowing reviews we read we decided on a two night stay. We only wish we could have stayed longer. The owners Claire and Robbie couldn't have done any more to accommodate us. The location is fantastic and the room we stayed in was very comfy.The breakfast, which also offered vegetarian sausages, was enough to keep us going all day. We would definitely stay at The Ramblers Rest again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portmacquarie
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked for one night and stayed three. Claire and Robbie are wonderful hosts and make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. The room excellent and location great. The breakfast menu offers a good selection of food including fresh fruit. There is off street parking and the home is an easy walk around Castleton. We recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a comfortable friendly place to stay in Castleton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Overall it is fantastic value for money. Great location, helpful owners, big breakfast, comfortable beds, modern rooms and parking included.

Claire and Robbie went out of their way to accommodate and help us out! Rambler's is a home where you feel like one big family. If in Derbyshire again will organise the trips so as to stay there again. Was brilliant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rambler's Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambler's Rest Guest House

Address: Back Street | Millbridge, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rambler`s Rest Guest House Hotel Castleton
Rambler's Rest Guest House Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rambler's Rest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.