We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A penny for hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Castleton B&B and Inns
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A penny for hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I chose this B&B because the owner did not mind pets. How lucky was I to have chosen this place to stay for the weekend. The rooms are cozy, the carpet bit dated, but what makes the stay so fantastic is the warm welcome of the hosts and the friendly atmosphere of the surroundings. You get your money worth of a breakfast and re-fill coffee. What more can you ask for? I stayed in another B&B before that and the owner was very tight with the food. Ridiculous, considering the money I paid. All I can say is: choose this place for its friendliness, nice views, relaxed atmosphere, generous hosts and convenient location into the village and exploring the surroundings. Castleton is a fantastic holiday location, which offers a welcoming village life.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

So glad we chose to stay here. Alan was a wonderful host and were sorry we could only stay one night. We hope one day to go back to this beautiful town and stay at 4 Seasons. Would hightly recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: A benchmark for other B&Bs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at four seasons in Castleton, Derbyshire, with friends and their Golden Retriever on 6th and 7th July. Spacious rooms, good beds and facilities and a great view from our room. Alan, the owner, and Adam who looks after everyone were great hosts... along with the cats and Dave the dog. Alan's children both friendly and chatty with guests although most of the time they were in their own house and garden next door. Can't fault it and also very good value. Great base for walking and good pubs within a few minutes walk. We intend returning. Oh - and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights in April 2012 with a view to doing some hiking and I have to say we absolutely loved it. The place is 2 minutes walk from the bus stop (bus goes through hope valley to sheffield). Alan is so friendly and helpful, unfortunately he couldn't be there on our arrival but he had left a key for us and to our delight, when we walked through the door we were greeted by his two adorable cats. We had the double (/triple) ensuite with bath and shower, which had a view of some hills and a bit of pevril castle. The room was lovely, warm, spotless, modern decor but with some traditional touches like wooden beams in the ceiling. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, there were tea and coffee facilities in the room (and the occasional visit from the cats!). The bathroom was huge with plenty of towels and the shower was powerful and hot. We were the only people there and it was lovely and quiet. We felt so at home there, it felt more like a home than a hotel. The breakfast was delicious, lots of variety and the best part was that Alan cooked us a full breakfast with vegetarian bacon and sausages! This was a highlight for me, that's the first time a hotel I've stayed in has ever had vegetarian bacon and sausages. The breakfast definitely set us up for a long day of hiking! We had no issue with the carpets in the hallways as some other reviewers have said, but anyway, this is a BnB in the english countryside, it's not the Ritz! All in all, we had a lovely time in Castleton and the four seasons was the perfect choice as a base for our holiday. We left very happy and definitely hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Wonderful place to stay on the high street of Castleton. Well located for the walking and access to the various cave tours the town has to offer. Good rooms tea, coffee, hot chocolate all on hand. Comfortable beds and a great view out of our window to the hills and fields. Shower is good untapped hot water, carpet on the floor in the bathroom is a tad odd but if thats the worst of it then the 4S is doing well for the market it serves. A Super sized english breakfast is served, a little greasy for this aussie but caters to its market well and plenty of drinks hot and cold with cereals and toast on hand. Well recommended regards to Alan an Co.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have stayed at this B&B twice and will return for the following values:
•Alan is a lovely guy and tries to be host at all times (his dog and cats want to join in as well!)
•More or less value for money depending on what you are looking for. We just wanted a clean bed/en-suite/room to sleep in, with a hearty breakfast to start our day of walking.
•The best breakfast (apart from my hubbies that is!)
•Clean bedding/room/en-suite (although we had to ask for towels)
•TV/Sky access
•Fantastic view (out the window that is!)
•Dog friendly (Jack loved it)
•Central position for easy access to pubs/eating/shops/mines etc
•Easy access to ‘Mam Tor’ and local walks
However the B&B needs to be re-decorated/new carpets to the hall way, to which Alan (host) is in the process of completing with time permitted, as he seems to be doing everything on his own!!!
Alan also needs to re-advertise his B&B with correct photos of what is on offer, to which he is aware of.
All-in-all we will return as it ticked all the boxes we required.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here recently, used it as a base for biking and walking. First impressions was hallway was a bit tired, but when we got into our rooms we were very pleasantly surprised. Large, comfortable room, with large bath/shower room. Beds very comfy. Breakfast good quality. All round we were very pleased and will definately return. A little bit of attention to detail to the cleaning wouldnt go amiss (far far far from dirty though) and a slightly more organised breakfast would of scored 5 all round (perhaps available slightly earlier for us early risers?). Thank you for a lovely time, recommended. Oh slightly larger flat screen TV really is a must now a days too. Lovely time had and will be sure to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons is a fresh take on Bed and Breakfast. Owners, Alan and Jenny pride themselves on providing a warm and friendly atmosphere in a fantastic setting. All rooms have been tastefully refurbished and offer stunning views over the surrounding hills or the pretty village of Castleton. A superb breakfast is inclusive. We are ideally situated for walkers, mountain bikers and sight seekers wanting to explore the beautiful Peak District which has something to offer throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Castleton
Castleton Four Seasons
Four Seasons Bed And Breakfast Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.