We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn to your Saves list
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Castleton B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Ontario, Can.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed for a few nights at this pub/B&B in the heart of Castleton. Nice, clean room and bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the food was good rib-sticking fare. It was quite quiet this time of the year and it seems this was the only pub in the area that was pretty well always busy with locals and travellers and for good reason!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    43
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
21
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed here with friends for a week in august 2013. The location is very nice and is a good starting point for some interesting trips. The staff is friendly and food, beer and general atmosphere were excellent. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been to the Cheshire Cheese a couple of times now when in the area and we love it. Great home cooked traditional food, fab beer selection and the staff are lovely. Not stayed here but seems busy with people checking in.
A really cozy pub one of our favourites in castleton.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped here on the way through Castleton purely because it looked so inviting from the outside and had such a unique name.

We walked in and straightaway we went ahhhhhh, it was so cosy with low beams and trinkets everywhere, a proper country pub. We ordered the food and drinks, they have a good selection or real ales. The bar staff were nice and friendly and quick to serve.

The food came and it was delicious. I had the famous pie which was superb and my wife had the chicken cobler, no complaints from either of us, it was pipping hot and tasted lovely and was served in no time at all. The chips were large and chunky, crispy on the outside but nice and fluffy on the inside.

It was a lovely pub in a lovely location that we will return to very soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smarden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

As a regular to Castleton we love this pub. It is gorgeous with excellent food choices and friendly staff. We even made a special journey fon our way back from Yorkshire just to have lunch at this pub before our long journey back home to Kent. Cant wait to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Castleton and tried every pub. This was by far the best and we ended up staying here a long while drinking with the very friendly family who own the pub. It has a great atmosphere, very cosy, excellent homemade food and wide range of drinks. The staff are really welcoming and we would not hesitate on returning. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

just returned from a great weekend ,we stayed here for 2 nights and loved it
we stayed in room 2 which was great and had everything we needed for a short break,although the room was on the road noise wasn't a problem and the bed was very comfortable. i would say the only negative was that the bathroom was a bit small and someone that is disabled or a bit larger mite struggle - it wasn't a problem for us
The rooms are accessed from the bar up some stairs. the room was clean and warm and tea/coffee making facilities were available
breakfast was good ,and hot !! although the full English was served with a grilled tomato not beans or plum tomatoes ( this is my personal preference),there was a vegetarian option which i tried (which came with beans ) and was very nice !! but i did hear people asking to swop and change and staff were happy to oblige .
all the staff were lovely and very helpful
the bar was lovely ..old and comfortable and served a range of cask ales ,cider and lagers we were surprised how busy it was !!
we ate lunch here,we both had steak and ale pie,chips and peas ,i must admit it was absolutely delicious !!!
we had a great time in Caselton and did the full pub crawl and will definitely be returning !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn

Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Hotel Castleton
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.