We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - a must place to stay for all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn to your Saves list
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Castleton B&B and Inns
Flitwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome - a must place to stay for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed for a long weekend and had an excellent time. The Inn is quint essentially English and has such a welcoming and warm feel the minute you walk in the door. The rooms were lovely and the food was amazing with excellent size portions and clearly good, fresh, home cooking. For the men there was a great selection of real Ales, clearly not a chore trying each one....!! and for the ladies the most amazing and awesome selection of desserts...!
The staff were attentive, polite and made us feel very welcome.
We will definitely be returning at some point soon and would recommend this Inn for anyone wanting to stay in Castleton of the Peaks.

Room Tip: Check on the website as you can see each of the rooms, size and where they are and select the room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    43
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
21
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed whilst walking in the area with my son and son-in-law, though this is a pub i regularly visit when camping in Edale. The rooms were comfortale, the breakfasts excellent, evening meals good and this is an excellent base for visiting or walking in the beautiful high peaks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

...as the choice and quality of the beer in here has always been excellent in the many times I have visited in the last year or so. I guess as it is so popular they have never felt the need to get it accredited. It should also be in the good beer guide rather than the other Cheshire Cheese in Hope as the quality and choice of beers is far better. The food is also fine in there and it is dog friendly. If you are going to get a meal be careful if you decide to get a serving of nuts before hand as you get loads in a portion as they fill a cup with them rather than just give you a packed of KP/Nobby's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Difficult to fault. Great food, great service, great value. Friendly and lively little inn. Super breakfast with black pudding. Really cosy just like an old traditional pub should be. Try the Bansley chop or the innkeepers pie. Fantastic range of food to choose from though. Nice little room too. Very happy. Made our stay in the peak district a real treat. Would stay again in a shot.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed at Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese in Castleton three times since 1996.It's a great location and lovely weekend break. The room have been modernised and are very spacious. We enjoyed the food., plenty of variety and very nice!:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just got back from a lovely weekend away at this lovely and cosy pub. I stayed in room 7 which is the four poster room and thought it was a lovely homely cosy and warm room. There were a few little niggles like a litlle bit of dust on window sills and skirting boards and a bit of a tidy up in the bathroom wouldnt go amiss eg fresh grouting and a coat of fresh paint but on the whole the room was clean and had a lovely feel to it. There is noise from the main road but this died down during the evening and didnt interupt my sleep. We ate in the restuarant both nights and enjoyed our meals. The bar is lovely and cosy and so christmassy with all the christmas lights. I would defiantley stay again in this particular room however i think it is a little pricey at £95.pp per night as I have stayed a B & Bs of a similar standard and paid a little less then this. All in all a good stay and cant undertsand the people who give this one out of four did u stay in the same place as me

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Spent two nights here while bimbling around the area. I know the pub of old and frankly I don't understand the poor reviews. The staff were very welcoming (Chris) and made sure that i was fed and watered and made to be at home. The gaffer (Gary) is a good host and overall with a slice of friendly locals (previous reviewers should try saying hello), it was a great two nights of very good evening meal, good local ales, very comfy room and a full well cooked english breaky to kick off the next day. All in all an excellent all round venue.

Room Tip: Tell the guys what you want but bear in mind you only sleep there - I saw very little of my room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn

Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Hotel Castleton
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.