We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing sandwich!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Food Angel - CLOSED

The Food Angel
Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WD, England
44 7930 205812
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had their club sandwich and a coffee. Definitely filling and excellent quality. My wife had a baked potato which came with salad.
Very clean, and staff were friendly

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cakes - that's what we went for, not a loo! ;-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Used this a couple of times and despite its size, our group of 8 were accommodated both times. The staff worked really quickly to get our order out and on both occasions, we were all served with nice drinks and good cakes, as well as politeness and smiles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Best Panini"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great chicken panini and lovely fresh side salad. The girls were very accommodating and made a bacon sandwich not listed on the menu for my fussy 10 year old. They also bake cakes and there were lots of puddings to choose from, including the local traditional Bakewell tart. Will definitely go back next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Even in the rain my Brie and bacon sandwich was smashing. Freshly prepared and nicely packed. The selection of sandwiches, cakes and biscuits was fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not cheap (in fact quite expensive!) but the sandwiches were lovely, lovely, lovely, and baked spud decent too.

Friendly and swift service and a decent range of food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Food Angel also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Food Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.