We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to fault.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Nags Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Nags Head
Save
You added Ye Olde Nags Head to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cross Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Castleton B&B and Inns
CUMBRIA,ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Difficult to fault.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed in April. Friday to Sunday. Room was called Peveril. At top and back of house but was very quiet and lovely view out to the Castle.and church. Clean,well furnished room with shower in small but well appointed bathroom. Free wine(on arrival), water, coffee,tea, tissues,flat screen television that could play DVDs. Large comfortable bed with large mirror as headboard. Excellent food served at reasonable prices and washed down with very well kept beers. Friday night was quiz night which was well attended by locals creating a nice atmosphere of geniality. Attentive and considerate staff. Overall superb value for money. As an introduction to the Peak District,the village of Castleton and staying at The Olde Nags Head cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    80
    22
    13
    13
See reviews for
21
163
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 255 cities Reviews in 255 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

You are really spoiled for choice of great pubs in Castleton. There are 6 and they all seem very good. Perhaps this is our favorite to date, but it's very close.

Located on the road through Castleton. There is a car park near the rear. The bar is to the right as you enter, with the restaurant to the left.

Excellent selection of hand pumped ales. You can have a tray of 3 x half pints for £4.95. You chose the 3 you fancy from their fine selection and they rack them up on a wooden tray. They also do 3 x third pints for £3.50 ish. It is a nice touch if you fancy trying a selection. I found all of the the ales superb.

We did not eat here, but the special board looked fab. I would have loved to try the venison casserole and the local sausages.

Brisk service from friendly, efficient staff.

Everything you could ever want from a pub.

There are rooms here too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived back in Castleton extremely cold from a walk up Mam Tor, the summit-temperature of which must have been -15C with the wind chill ! Nags Head was the place to find: two roaring fires to thaw out a large group of adults and kids, great beer, warm atmosphere, board games to entertain; we didn't want to leave and we stayed a good couple of hours before we headed back to our bunkhouse in Bamford. We will fondly remember this place !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Travelled over to castleton in a hunt for a good old British pub that didn't charge an arm and a leg! Served by a lovely lady who was very friendly and welcoming. The food was fantastic and beautifully presented, and the warm log fire just added to a fantastic visit.

:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in March 2013, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, there were three fires burning all day, and the food was excellent.
Sometimes when you stay somewhere for a few days, you look at the menu and there is only really one item that you like. Not so here. The menu was such that we ate different meals each night, and will have to come back to finish off the great range of choice.
The pub/hotel/restaurant is very well situated in the middle of Castleton, and full of character. We went to walk, and did not need to mopve the car from the private car park as we could walk each day from the doorstep.
We will certainly go agan, and look forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What an excellent team to find at any establishment large or small.
From arrival we were greeted with the warmest of welcomes.
This is a very friendly unpretentious pub (well more than a pub.. an excellent travellers inn).
Absolutely 1st class breakfasts and very good quality and value food all round.
Bedrooms are compact but cosy and includes all the amenities required for a comfortable stay.
The staff are all without exception excellent and I am sure they will keep up their very high standards.
All in all with the real ales, decent wine and good food together with the excellent service I can only recommend this as fantastic value for money. ( A very enjoyable weekend ).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

we called in on valentines and there was a room available.
The room had just been refurbished with a huge walk in power shower.
The room was ample in size with large double bed, flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities.
in the evening we ate in the restaurant downstairs which was reasonably priced and home cooked food. steak and ale pie was fantastic and fresh veg.
after meal we went into the bar which was warm with real log fire and very welcoming and friendly.
all staff were polite and friendly.
the next morning we went down for breakfast which had a wide variety of fruit juices, cereals , fruit etc plenty of tea and coffee ... the the best full english i have had in a long time.
all in all a fantastic stay from booking in to checking out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Nags Head

Address: Cross Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Nags Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Nags Head is a traditional 17th-century Coaching Inn which has recently undergone a stylish refurbishment and now offers the perfect blend of contemporary and traditional dining. With 10 stunning en-suite rooms, some with Spa Bath en-suite, Ye Olde Nags Head is the ideal weekend retreat. Guests can expect special touches such as a complimentary bottle of wine in each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Nags Head Hotel Castleton
Ye Olde Nags Head Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Nags Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.