We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little hotel in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Nags Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Nags Head
Save
You added Ye Olde Nags Head to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cross Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Castleton B&B and Inns
north
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely little hotel in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you like good food and real ale would like to stay in a country pub then look no further than a weekend or longer staying in Castleton in the Peak District. We opted for the Ye Old Nags Head but also sampled the beers in the Bull, the Cheshire Cheese and the Peaks and decided we had made the best choice with the Nags. Our rooms were small but very clean with some very nice touches complimentary wine and spring water as well as biscuits. The breakfast was excellent local produce well cooked and the evening meals first class. The quality of the food and the portions are to be recommended. The pub itself has a very good. atmosphere we joined in the quiz night on the Friday very good. The whole village is relaxed and friendly. We will be returning

Room Tip: We opted for the rooms with walk in showers. Those with baths are larger it depends on what you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    80
    22
    13
    13
See reviews for
21
163
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were spoilt for choice of where to eat on our visit to Castleton, but the menu outside Ye Old Nag's Head enticed us in. It was a really dreary day and walking in to find the fire on, and the pub warm was a great start.

We both liked the sound of the Pick and Mix sausage and mash for £9.95; choose your flavour of sausage from a choice of 4, then choose your mash, cheese, black pudding, and two others, lastly, choose your sauce/gravy. We also opted for the giant Yorkshire pudding with our meal for an extra £1 each.

The meals were brought out in good time, and were absolutely HUGE, the Yorshire was completely filled with mash, on top of which sat 3 well cooked sausages (two larger sausages if you chose the venison option). On top of this were two crispy onion rings. It tasted just as great as it looked and neither of us could finish our meals.

We would definitely eat here again, good, honest pub grub in a lovely old fashioned pub, perfect.

Room Tip: We didn't stay the night so cannot rate the bedrooms. Trip Advisor would not let me submit witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were invited to a Wedding in the area and so decided to make a long weekend out of it and how pleased we were that we did. We arrived on the Thursday to a very warm welcome, John the owner, without asking took our cases up to the room we had booked. The room had a lovely 4 poster bed and a spa bath in the large bathroom. We used the restaurant on both the Thursday & Friday Nights we were there and the food was excellent (not to mention the massive breakfast) along with the very friendly service. I too tried the ales on pump in the racks, but unlike the other reviewer I had 2 racks lined up so that I could sample all 6 cask ales (1 was a delicious Scrumpy) in one go.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners & staff, as I stated we were attending a wedding on the Saturday and asked if they could recommend a good taxi company. They offered to do this for us, unfortunately there were several weddings in the area and they could only book a taxi for the return trip in the evening. John, the owner, then volunteered to drive us to the wedding himself, which he did and we greatfully appreciated.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Nags Head and would recommend it to all of my friends and to anybody reading this review. So once again thank you all at the Nag's Head for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Huge veggie mousaka, garlic bread and large salad for less than £9. Meaty dishes more pricey but I gather equally tasty. All seemed home made. Wine selection by the glass not good but it's probably not that kind of pub! Nice cosy surroundings. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Normanton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Food excellent, beer tasting trays!! 3 lots of proper beer in either thirds or halfs, wonderful. Very dog friendly, Harriet even got offered a bonio from the staff (who were warm and friendly) Add in free wifi, what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had lunch here with my family on a day trip to Castleton. We were looking for somewhere with "honest" pub food at reasonable prices and this pub seemed to fit the bill.

Our 3 girls ate from the children's menu which was good value at £4.50. There was a good selection and my girls all had lasagne, which came with home -made chips and garden peas. They all cleaned their plates and said it was delicious. My husband and I both had the premium sausages and mash. You chose your sausages- venison for me and cumberland for hubby- and then selected your mash( cheese and onion for me and mustard for hubby), finally selecting your sauce/gravy. There was onion gravy, tomato and garlic sauce,peppercorn sauce to name a few. You could opt to pay an extra pound and have it all served in a yorkshire pudding, otherwise it was £9.50. The piece de resistance was the crispy home-made onion rings served on top of the mash!

The meals arrived quite promptly after ordering and the service was faultless. We were asked twice if we were happy with our meals. The children had ice-cream for dessert at £1.50 for two scoops with a wafer and chocolate stick, but my husband and I were too full to partake of the good selection on offer.

If you are looking for quality home-cooked food at reasonable prices in lovely surroundings- the restaurant was spacious and in good decorative order- this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

lovely bed and breakfast at the nags head we stayed in the castleton room which had a beautiful 4 poster bed and spa bath. My husband loved the real ales we had our evening meal here too which was lovely. The nags head is right in the centre of castleton a charming little villiage with a few pubs would reccomend for a lovely relaxing night away.

Room Tip: castleton room could be a little noisy as it is directly above the main bar we were informed of this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Nags Head

Address: Cross Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Nags Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Nags Head is a traditional 17th-century Coaching Inn which has recently undergone a stylish refurbishment and now offers the perfect blend of contemporary and traditional dining. With 10 stunning en-suite rooms, some with Spa Bath en-suite, Ye Olde Nags Head is the ideal weekend retreat. Guests can expect special touches such as a complimentary bottle of wine in each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Nags Head Hotel Castleton
Ye Olde Nags Head Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Nags Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.