We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking a nightmare, customer service shocking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Castle | Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Coalville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Booking a nightmare, customer service shocking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our stay was doomed from our booking some 6 months ago. Couple of weeks after the booking the parent company took money out of bank account for us and our friends without warning - 0ver £600 which comes as a shock! No confirmation of their unscheduled withdrawal despite chasing head office. When we arrived, the first person said we hadn't paid. Thankfully this was sorted out quickly. 2 night stay. Room ok, but annoying green exit light luminating the entire room and with only 2 skylights it was boiling at night so sleep not great. Breakfast..... we all booked the full English. First morning was acceptable. 2nd morning was truely a Fawlty Towers experience. No juice, no milk no waitress. When she eventually showed up she was chasing around - obviously on her own. We ordered our breakfasts after everyone in the hotel had had theirs, yet we still had to wait a full 40 minutes before it started to come out. Not happy. Then they all came out with scrambled egg. Well am I not right when I say that as a standard full English breakfast is fried egg? We should at least have been given a choice. When 2 of us said we wanted fried not scrambled the waitress stormed off, threw cutlery into the basket obviously annoyed with us. We later found out she didn't like our attitude!! When it came she almost threw the food at us - oh another 10 minutes for a few fried eggs. We naturally complained about our experience and to the credit of the management we received £50 per couple (£200) compensation. This will go to our next year's walking holiday - not at the Castle it has to be said!

Room Tip: Room 14 not the best due to green night light and too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    72
    40
    24
    14
See reviews for
32
109
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having stayed here previously a couple of years ago, we had another great value overnight stay at The Castle in June 2013. Our room was clean though dimly-lit; the bathroom was in good order (excellent shower!) and we had a free parking space in this very confined village. The rooms are in converted traditional, (agricultural?) outbuildings which we found quaint. But soundproof they ain't!
As a member of the "Vintage Inn" chain the pub offered the customary wide-ranging corporate menu which did not disappoint. We had 'nibbles', starters and mains and enjoyed every course [this includes my wife who is very picky but who cleaned her plate each time!] The service was friendly, prompt and personable and the bar staff and waiters took time to chat. Prices were competitive and at no point did we feel overcharged.
The included continental breakfast was of a good standard with fresh fruit and a wide range of cereals, breads, etc. and you could help yourself to your heart's content. We shall, no doubt, be making a third visit anytime soon.

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 9 which could not connect to the wi-fi system. We were told this is a temporary si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Castleton is one of our favourite places, a bolt hole for when we want a quick trip away that not too far away. We've stayed in many places in Castleton, but this one seems to suit us best. We are a family of 4, and our kids are 6 & 3.
Booking in advance on the Innkeepers Lodge website meant that we could have 2 nights B&B here, for cost of a single night in some of the other hotels in the village!

We stayed in room 5, in the annex. There is an outer door operated with a fob to open the electronic lock before climbing the stairs to our room that had a normal lock on it.

The room was in the eves, but with a roof window (with a great view of Peveril Castle) it isn't stuffy if its warm outside. The other window looks onto the front of the hotel. There is a double bed and a double sofa bed that the kids used. On previous occasions a cot has been provided and there is just enough room for it next to the desk, which is convenient. The linen was clean, white and crisp; the towels were white and not too fluffy; the shower was excellent; bathroom was of an adequate and modern; and everything was clean. There was also a LCD TV if you wanted it (why when the scenery is stunning!!)

The hotel is opposite the church that has a chiming clock, however the last chime is at 22:00 and it does not start up chiming again until 07:00. You may get some noise from people outside the pub if you retire early. This is not disturb our kids, and it was all wrapped up by about 11pm anyway.

The car park can get full during the day, but does empty out in the evening.

Check-in was quick and friendly and our room was available immediately, even though we arrived at 1pm, two hours before check-in time.

The hotel is run by the 'Vintage Inns' franchise, so has good wine and very good quality cask ales. There were six on this time of varying strengths and types.

Breakfast is continental only and buffet in style; small packet cereals, croissants and other pastries, toast, fruit and yogurts were available, along with coffee and a good selection of teas.

We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was good quality if a bit on the pricey side.

Free wireless from O2 was available in the main hotel, but not in our room; they were having some issues with it.

For these last 2 reasons, I cannot give the hotel an 'excellent' rating, but we very much enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went for an evening meal here and were very disappointed. The glasses were dirty as was the cutlery. The waitress treated us as if we were an inconvenience. The starters were OK but the main courses were predominantily freezer food and the chicken was bunt and kitchen staff had tried to cover it with sauce. They did knock the cost of the chicken from the bill. The toilets had toilet paper all over the floor but none on the roll so we wont be going back sadly.

Room Tip: try the olde nags head instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went with a 19 strong group for a 4 day (3 night) walking holiday. Our room was in the main building and was clean, large and comfortable. The bathroom was large and well supplied with towels etc. Even though the room was above the bar there was no trouble with noise from below. The main gripe was, being an old building the floors were very squeaky and it was a annoying when occupants in the room above were walking across their room very late at night (or could it have been the resident ghost). The included buffet breakfast was adequate and the full english for which you can pay extra was large and nicely cooked. All of our group were happy with their rooms some of which were in the annexe though one couple had a room in the main building that only had roof windows. The staff were friendly and helpful and the 2 evening meals we had in the restaurant were good. A sandwich shop opposite served packed lunches for walkers, very convenient. All in all a good venue in a lovely area for walkers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Despite being very busy, staff checked us in quickly.

The room we had was a standard double in the annex and was very cosy and well appointed.

The bathroom was lovely a spacious with a bath fit for two.

My only gripe would be the bathroom ceiling did have flaking paint and a slight musty smell. the room was a little dusty in places too.

The bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in away from home and with little noise from around us I almost didn't want to get up for breakfast.

The noon check out as standard is a great added bonus too.

We ate in the bar after check-in - food had improved somewhat since my last visit. Had they had a certain local relish to flavour my pie I would have been over the moon!

Room Tip: In the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our visit to the castle was very pleasant, easy check in and the room was lovely in the old stable block. Very spacious with a huge en suite. We had a meal in the bar 'try the vintage pies' and despite being very busy we were served promptly and with a smile. A great nights sleep in a really comfortable bed with the bonus that checkout isn't until 12 so no rushing in the morning. Breakfast was a buffet with various cereals, juices, yogurts and pastries, toast and coffee. Plenty of choice. I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay at the Castle, no complaints here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Address: The Castle | Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.