We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Castle | Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Northampton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I always had this hotel on my radar due to the location and how pleased was I when I finally got to stay. Downside it was for work so no time to explore! Price was excellent and I was more than pleased on arrival in the pouring rain, a cosy inn. My room was lovely, clean, quirky, well decorated, comfortable and spacious. My only negative comments would be over the slow restaurant service, no attention was being made and there was hardly anyone in there. I found the waiter to be a little too friendly for my liking. It won't put me off and I plan to return for a weekend visit.

Room Tip: Room 4! Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    84
    44
    24
    15
See reviews for
37
127
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This charming pub/hotel/restaurant is part of an inn chain but none the worse for it . The location is stunning in the heart of Castleton village with views to the mountains around the gorgeous hope valley . The rooms which are in a converted stable block are simply lovely with country furniture , crisp fresh linen and stylish soft furnishings . We ate twice in the pub + had breakfast which was complimentary continental style , only complaint is that we didn't know there was a full English option until a family on the next table was served one ! (a couple we met there said they made the same mistake so it must be a communication breakdown ) . The food and service were outstanding considering it was a busy bank holiday , roast dinner delish ! If you decide to go i'd advise you avoid the Bank holiday .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The lunch we had was James Martins pies, where to start? The pies looked Hugh! Trouble was the pastry was under cooked, mash was okay, the peas? We're disgusting to say the least! Over cooked cold, think James should check before he puts his name to this bad pie, they did not seem to care either, over priced food, will never go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

(2) Lad's weekend walking.
Good central location, nice rooms and plenty of parking.

Pleasant pub, helpful staff.

Our AA walking maps just confusted the whole area and best route for Mam Tor circular is :-
Hope Rd up to YHA Castleton>
Marked paths up to ridge at Backtor Wood>
Left / West to Mam Tor

(then) either head back to village or carry on round to come down the ravine by Peveril Castle atop of Castleton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked the restaurant for our parents' Golden Wedding.The first disappointment was that there was no roast beef (at 1.30pm on a Sunday). Next, the vegetarian option on the menu was the wrong one. It took them over an hour to serve the meal and when it did arrive it was cold and the carrots were very undercooked. That said, they did offer us a bottle of wine and took 20% off the bill; this was little compensation for spoiling such a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was a walk in booking to the Castle and managed to get a great deal for staying there for 2 nights. The room was small but expected this and did the job. The place as a great feel to it, lovely open fires, bar and restaraunt area. However, if you want serving you are going to have to wait for a while. On a Friday evening we went to the bar for a drink, we decided to drink here for the evening as it was pouring with rain outside. On entering the bar it was quite busy, but no staff behind the bar, on waiting for a few minutes a member of staff from the restaurant who was serving tables came behind the bar, poured drinks and left.....no acknowledgment to the 10 people that were standing there waiting to be served,saying he or a member of staff would be there to get you some drinks. We left immediatley, went to one of the many other pubs in the village and got served straight away. Accomodation is lovely and breakfast is nice but really disappointed with the level of service from the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed last night and had a really nice time. Room was nice size, bed really comfy and good shower. Floor was a bit wonky, but it's hundreds of years old..managed to combine charm with modern comfort.

Paid extra for a cooked breakfast which was huge and good quality. Worked out about 6.50 each and well worth it...continental version was nice as well with really good coffee and orange juice.

Had a great evening sat in front of log fire, chatting and drinking wine..had lunch there as well, and was packed..only comment would b more staff at busy times at the bar.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was good, in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Address: The Castle | Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.