We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pushy, smelly owner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro

The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro
The Stones, Castleton, Peak District National Park, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 15 Restaurants in Castleton
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pushy, smelly owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Sadly, I wish I'd read all the previous reviews before approaching this tea room. I concur with EVERY negative thing said about this place.

I will never return!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    9
    9
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“DO NOT ENTER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Having had a lovely walk in Castleton I really fancied a lovely cup of tea. Unfortunately the Three Roofs Cafe where I would normally go was packed out, so were all the other cafes in Castleton. I decided to try the Hidden Tearoom because I had walked past it lots of times. Upon entering the room it smelt of unwashed clothes, it wasn't pleasant but since I was alone I decided to carry on up the stairs and just see what it was like. There was no-one apart from a large man, who was the owner. I asked for a cup of tea, his reply was, 'and a cake' I said no it's OK I only wanted a cake. He said 'I've cooked the scones fresh this morning'... I said, thank you but no. Then he started to say, 'we only serve drinks with cakes but by themselves'... since I was alone, I decided to have the scone with jam and cream. The tea was OK, although the teacup wasn't the cleanest I've seen. The score was clearly not cooked that morning and the cream smelt funny. Do not be fooled by the 'false advertising' on the main road about 'award winning scones'. They are certainly not that. When I came home, I decided to look on Trip Advisor - Oh how I'd looked BEFORE I'd parted with my money. PLUS, I urge you to read this:

http://www.ratemyplace.org.uk/inspections/the-hidden-tearoom-and-bistro-castleton


Never ever ever again. This place should be shut down!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dirty, bizarre, unpleasant so called tea room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Easily the most disappointing and overpriced 'cream tea' we have eaten. Do not be persuaded by 'a local' recommending this as a 'hidden gem, best in Castleton'. Hidden it may be but that is all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little down at heel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

the scones were tasty, the tea good and the jam tasted homemade, the welcome friendly but the interior had definitely seen better days.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“AVOID! worst tea room ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Horrible proprietor. Rude, pushy, bitter and overcharged us. Food was overcooked. Salad was wilting. Place smelt dirty. How is he still in business and how did the Telegraph give him such a rave review in 2009? Wish I'd checked Trip Advisor before going here.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.