We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place needs to stay hidden” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro

The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro
The Stones, Castleton, Peak District National Park, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 18 Restaurants in Castleton
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Nottingham
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“This place needs to stay hidden”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were in need of hot drinks after a long walk out in the cold, after finding one of the other tea rooms full up we decided to give this one a go as we'd never been before. I didn't get a good feeling walking up the stairs from the shop to it, it felt cold and smelt fusty. On entering the tea room, the owner greeted us in a grumpy manner and said we could have tea and scones or light bites, we explained we only wanted drinks as we knew we'd be meeting friends about an hour later for dinner, he then said we could have a take out. We both thought he was just pulling ours legs at first and was having a little joke with us, then came to realise he wasn't when he said "everyones eating" (there was only one other couple in there). We didn't like his abrupt and rude manner so hastily left again, thankful that we hadn't wasted our money here. We went to the Bulls Head instead and had a lovely cup of tea on a snug sofa in front of the fire.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    10
    10
    114
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“No wonder it is hidden”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Like other reviewers we popped in this tearoom after a walk in the local area.We went upstairs and shown a to a table by someone who i suppose was the owner,he then asked what scone we would like, we answered we would look at the menu,he asked us twice more about scones and when we said we would just like a drink he said we must have cake as well.His attitude was take it or leave, it, so we left and had a drink in a tearoom opposite the car park.This man ( who smells like an ashtray) is so rude he does not deserve to have any custom when other restaurants and cafe's are much friendlier and offer great service.This place should be avoided as the owner is rude and is only interested in selling his overpriced scones and cakes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“League of Gentleman sketch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stopped at Castleton for a walk, and wanted a snack before setting out. It was a sleepy and sunny day and we were attracted to the Hidden Tearoom as it had outside (extremely rickety) seating away from the main road traffic. I also fancied the fruit cake and Cheshire cheese. I had some reservations though; it did look rather seedy and not particularly clean, but we stayed to sit in the sun and, well, we weren't having cooked food! Our order arrived reasonably promptly, but it definately wasn't the Cheshire cheese I was expecting, just rather sweaty supermarket Cheddar and very average fruit cake. My partner had scones, which were OK if on the small side, with jam which looked home made, but was an unattractive brown shade. I then realised that the scruffy, dirty-looking unshaven chap who'd been leaning on the bridge smoking was, in fact, the owner. He swanned in an out (in his filthy shoes), glowered at customers and the very nervous-looking waiter, served some ice-cream from a pretty frosted-up freezer and went for another fag.

The unhappy couple on the next table chatted to us. They said they'd only wanted a cup of tea but were told by the owner that they had to have food as well and that there was nowhere in Castleton that would only serve drinks. They ordered a toasted tea cake but were then told that they couldn't have that as it was after 12.00........ They ordered scones too, with the brown jam.

We paid and left. I should have complained, but knew that this would result in an argument with a fairly aggressive-looking character, it would be upsetting and ruin the rest of my day, so I didn't.

I felt that we had twenty-five minutes in some weird League of Gentleman sketch. It was a thoroughly unpleasant experience and I urge you not to go. This could be a lovely little cafe in the right hands, serving a range of delightful drinks, with or without food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Why bother to run a tea room?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We very unimpressed by this establishment, having originally decided to give it a try as it seemed different, quirky, and off the beaten track and therefore wanted to support it. However we decided not to eat and drink there and won't be returning after our conversation with a man who we presumed is the owner. In a nutshell he wasn't prepared to serve my partner a cup of tea unless he had something to eat with it. What made things worse was that my partner didn't fancy a cream tea, doesn't like chocolate cake and so asked if he could have a flapjack. He was told flapjacks were only served to children! To top it all the man was smoking a cigarette outside the tearoom - which didn't give a professional impression - and the smoke was drifting over the outside eating area where, as non-smokers, we wanted to sit with our young baby. We obviously just voted with our feet and went somewhere else. I don't believe the owner is serious about running this place / making any money with this attitude as there is such a wide choice of alternative places to eat and drink on offer in Castleton - why would you put up with this behaviour?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rudest Tea Shop Owner Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We asked for a cup of tea at this so called "Tea Room". Not, you would think, an unusal request. We were met with rudeness from the owner, Mike Clark, who wasn't prepared to make us tea unless we had something to eat too. He continued to be rude as we left the buildng. Later that day a lady at another tea shop told us there were often complaints about him and he had been known to throw crockery at his staff.

Don't waste your time with him. There are plenty of other places in the village where you will receive a courteous and friendly welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.