We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peak Cavern

Peak Cavern
Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WS, England
44 1433 620 285
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 Attractions in Castleton
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cave was also known as "The Devil's Arse" by the rope-makers that worked at its entrance for centuries.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A family trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We took our kids (3 & 6) and although our youngest went free, it still cost £25, which I think is overpriced.

The tour took an hour: the guide was excellent, his rope making demonstration was very informative; his style was humorous and his historical and caving knowledge was commendable; the cavern itself was definitely an experience.

However, having done The Blue John and Speedwell caverns, we think these are better value for money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    60
    30
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Despite the tour guide being very enthusiastic and knowledgable, we felt the tour was poor value for the money (£9/adult). The large cavern was a disappointment - perhaps we had built up our expectations too high - and if the rope making demonstration hadn't been included at the beginning of the tour, it would have been even less interesting! Only recommended for those with a serious interest in rocks!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dark!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Kids absolutly loved it,, educational as well as fun,, need good shoes but great fun, would go again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Expensive and pretty poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Castleon and surrounding countryside is great for walking and after a hard day on the hills we thought this would be good.

It wasn't.

Our pub accommodation was circa £50, yet we foolishly paid £18 to go in here.

Don't waste your money:- there are no interesting formations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wootton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Also known as Devils ...... :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Informative one hour trip into the Peak Cavern. The guide was very good and enthusiastic with great info about rope making/history of the caves etc. Amusing to find out why the caves name had to change due to Queen Victorias visit! Not too claustrophobic - though be prepared to crouch down and walk at the limbago cave area (so if you have a bad back would suggest you not to visit). Tours occur on the hour - and it can be chilly and damp in the cave at 9degrees all year round so take a jacket and good walking shoes (slippy surfaces). Small gift shop on site where you can also buy coffee/tea to warm up afterwards

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peak Cavern also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Peak Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peak Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.