We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never return! Rude staff especially to children very overpriced food and drink” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Roofs Cafe

The Three Roofs Cafe
The Island | Hope Valley, Castleton, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WN, England
01433 620533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Castleton
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Three Roofs Cafe is a cafe situated the heart of Hope Valley. The cafe is recently under new management and the new proprietors Carl & Lee deliver a high level of good homemade food, hot and cold beverages and a nice homely environment that gives good value for money.The Three Roofs Cafe has parking facilities within close proximity are a number of local attractions and amenities. The village is great for walkers, cyclists, familes and is dog friendly too.There are many facilities in the local village+ including, Bed & Breakfast, local pubs, souvernir shops and lots of beautiful cottages.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will never return! Rude staff especially to children very overpriced food and drink”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW via mobile

After taking my children to blue johns cavern we popped in here for tea and cake. It looked lovely from outside but as soon as we walked in i wisjed we hadnt very cramped inside, we found a table and the staff were quite rude to us and miserable not what i expected at all! We ordered 2 teas 2 hot chocolates and 5 slices of cake and were charged nearly £30! The hot chocolate was no were near hot! Alrhough the cake was nice but the portions were massive and at the price not worth it. The ice cream on the other hand from a local source i believe was out of this world! The man was rude to me on serveral occassions and my children how i bit my lip ill never know! Will never return!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    75
    40
    39
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“disappointing cafe-rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

I was disappointed with this café. From the exterior it promises a warm welcome but this could not be further from the truth. It isn't helpful when you enter the café and not quite sure if you sit and wait to be served or go straight to the counter. Staff ignored us while they passed us a few times. We had to ask if we sit or give out order at the counter. The waitress was uninterested and needs a lesson on customer service. The café lacks atmosphere, warmth and general basic customer service. Only positive was the bakewell tart.
They do not deserve your money -advice go somewhere else where you will be welcomed and treated with respect.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threeroofscafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I am sorry your experience of our cafe wasn't a happy one. We are a counter service cafe which means you order and pay at the counter and your drinks and food are table served when ready. It's very similar to many independent cafés and pubs situated locally and in the city. Our menu which is available on all tables reminds customers of our service style and we have two blackboards with the same purpose. I am sorry these did not work for you but we try our best to have visible signage for all our customers. I'm pleased you enjoyed the bakewell but disappointed you feel a warning to others was warranted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sadly Disappointed ��”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Tea ok , cake ok
However , we were overcharged , special offer not honoured - next couple also overcharged.
Staff seemed disinterested in us . Might have been foriegn - it just didn't work. Lots of places in castleton - go somewhere else .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unfriendly service, miss sold produce, unfriendly man behind counter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

We visited this little café twice. The first time the man behind the counter was very un helpful towards us as we had a pushchair, and it appeared that he thought us more hassle than we were worth., so we left because of the awkwardness.
The second was also a bad encounter, we sat outside (so no awkward encounter with the pushchair!!) my wife thought she was getting a teapig tea as that was on show, but got a cheap second rate one instead, we told the waiter and he unwillingly gave a teapig bag to us. The scones were also massive behind the counter, but when received they were not the same scones!!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threeroofscafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am sorry your experience of our cafe didn't meet with your expectations and you left feeling unhappy with our level of service. We are a small cafe and the shape of our building unfortunately doesn't lend to the new styled pushchairs. We try and help where feasible but it does sometimes put people off because of the awkwardness of manoeuvring pushchairs through the cafe. I'm not sure what happened in regards to your t-bag being the incorrect brand. We would never intentionally try to give you something different to what you ordered. I can only apologise for this error. We are a busy popular cafe and I hope the next time your in Castleton you can choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second choice for a late lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Although I have visited this café in the past, I believe that there has recently been a change of ownership, to be confirmed :-) I selected haddock and chunky chips from the menu and my friend chose meat and potato pie. Both of us enjoyed the food, very tasty and despite being 'small plates' they were both generous portions. Service was prompt but although the food was brought with a friendly face, the staff member taking the order was much more 'formal'. The café is quite small and 'cosy', seating is quite close and dogs are welcome - great if you have a dog, not so great if you don't really want to share the limited space with dogs. We didn't purchase any cakes, we were too full! :-) Our decision to eat at this café was a second choice, our preferred eatery being closed, and will remain a second choice :-)

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Roofs Cafe also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Three Roofs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Roofs Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.