We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for budget travellers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Cottage

Save Saved
You added Fern Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fern Cottage
How Lane Castleton Hope Valley, Castleton S33 8WJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Location for budget travellers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for a 2 night mini break. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of all facilities in this charming village. Keith had called me the previous day and explained that he was disabled and that sometimes it took him a while to get to the door, which we did not consider a problem. I called him when we got into the village and he was waiting for us when we arrived, accompanied by the very friendly Jess!

The cottage is fairly small, but appeared clean and we certainly got no hint of unpleasant smells, we are also dog owners so may not have noticed any doggy smells.

We had a twin room at the front of the house which was not en-suite so we were sharing a bathroom with one other room.

Some of the facilities were quite basic, the beds were not very comfortable and creaked with slight movements. The biggest issue for me was that there was a skylight that had no blind or way of blacking out which meant that by 5am the room was very light and sleep more difficult. Yes the room is at the front of the house and there is road noise from around 6:30am onwards.

We chose not to have the breakfast, but from what we observed, it looked and certainly smelled good.

We did not experience any problem or rudeness with Keith, his Mother or anyone else at the cottage and cannot understand some of the other comments on here. Jessica is a typical bouncy 6 year old Golden Labrador who is confined to the downstairs. WIFI and Freeview in the rooms worked well.

The only reason that we may not go back is only because we found it difficult to sleep, but for younger travelers and especially ones looking for budget accommodation then Fern Cottage is an option

Room Tip: Room 4 is located at the back of the cottage and may be a quieter option with en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I agree with the other reviews, don't bother, it is cheep for a reason.
We were met by the owner who was very rude to us and even threaten by brother because he told the dog not to jump up at him (he was in a suit as we were going to a wedding so dog paw prints were not wanted). The owner was greasy, covered in crumbs and very rude.
The bedrooms were clean but the bed was falling apart and creaked all night, i am surprised anybody in the place was able to sleep with all the noise.
Take our advice and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

All negative reviews and more are true. There was nothing to redeem this place. The owner was surly and rude when he opened the door to us and he presented as a caricature of the worst possible landlord. There is no need to patronise him because he is disabled, it simply means that he cannot go upstairs to check the state of the accommodation he is providing at a price.The smell of damp dog permeated the whole house and the beds were not fit for purpose. How these places remain open is quite beyond me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susdsex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I am appalled at some of the reviewers. Yes the owner took time to open the door, yes he had bandaged feet, yes he clearly is disabled and therefore finds it difficult to move around and be as welcoming as he could. Yes you initially enter through his living quarters and they are off putting and smell (as is frequently the case with a disability). This is something that somehow needs to be addressed, but good on him for running a business despite his obvious pain and difficulty in getting around. So stop being so discriminatory and get over it. Yes he has a friendly dog but that stays downstairs.

The rest of the time you have your own door and entrance and the bedrooms are fine, clean and away from the rest of the house, there is wifi. Ensuite was fine. The breakfast was lovely. The housekeeper and the owner's mother are very chatty and friendly. I have no problem with this, they were just being friendly and I enjoyed talking to them, but if you are not the talkative type probably not for you. I would say only for one or two nights if you are thinking of staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed as a solo traveller in a double room.
Room very clean and en suite shower hot and worked well.
Room overlooking main road however slept very well as little roadside noise.
Wi fi worked well in the bedroom.
Good breakfast cooked to order.
Friendly labrador sometimes found sitting in lounge.
Good base for walkers.
Between bus station and post office.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ok, it was the one of the only places in Castleton which would take a one night booking. Booked via well known booking website which described the room as spaceous with en suite. When we arrived we did find a large bedroom but no en suite (the owner did explain only two of the four rooms had en suite but would not charge for the bathroom as it needed decorating).......bedroom was clean although furniture had seen better days and despite a large 6ft double bed I had the worst night sleep - a mattress of two halves, one ok and one side which felt like it was like sleeping on a ploughed field with little or no springs!!!

Now for the bathroom - broken lid on toilet cistern we could live with but after a goods days walking a hot shower is a must - however a luke warm dribble from an old and broken shower was not funny - simply not enough mains pressure as the pressure gauge hardly moved from the red hence the cold or slightly luke warm dip or dribble of water coming from the shower head. Next time if it is not en suite then we won't be staying there!!

Breakfast was good, full English, cooked to order, plenty of coffee and toast and a very pleasant housekeeper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spotlessly clean & well-looked after. We were made very welcome even before we arrived as I had to phone to find it. We didn't have breakfast but the housekeeper seemed very nice and very capable so I am sure it would have been good. The big and only downside is that the beds were not comfortable. Some good quality new mattresses needed! Bath was nice and big and there was plenty of hot water - although it took a while to run. Very reasonable cost. And a bonus in the form of a friendly Labrador, Jess.

Room Tip: The twin room has more comfortable beds than the double but is not en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fern Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Cottage

Address: How Lane Castleton Hope Valley, Castleton S33 8WJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Castleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty lodging in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Fern Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Cottage Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.