We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang on again Sue....Thank you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Castleton B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bang on again Sue....Thank you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Second time round at Cheshire house, Stayed in different room and as with the first visit, everything was spot on. Excellent value for money and again breakfast was superb, with everything you could wish for available. Can't recommend it highly enough, Sue provides a wonderfully warm welcome and offered advice on local places of interest, advice which we took and which further enhanced our break, Thank you Sue for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at Cheshire House. Our room was clean,spotless and comfortable. Good sized en suite shower which was clean and fresh looking.Breakfast was of a good quality served by Sue who was very friendly and liked to chat to her guests. Location was excellent no noise from traffic and parking was nice and secure. We really enjoyed our stay at Cheshire House and would love to return in the future.Thanks Sue for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at Cheshire House for 2 nights. We were welcomed on arrival by Sue who showed us to our room and made sure we were comfortable with everything. Our room was tastefully furnished with a good sized en suite shower, very clean and fresh looking with a lovely view overlooking Peveril Castle.
Castleton itself was a 2 minute walk away and was an excellent base for touring the Peak District.
Our breakfasts were freshly cooked for us and we had plenty of choice of cereals and fresh fruit and yoghurt. The full English breakfast was very tasty and filling and we loved Sue's homemade marmalade.
We would give this accommodation 100% just would have liked to have stayed for longer!
We would definitely go back to Cheshire House if we visit the Peak District again.
Thank you Sue for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Excellent location nice and handy for all the village amenities. Sue made me feel very welcome the room was lovely and clean and comfotrable . Parking was secure. Breakfast choice was excellent quality, Loved Mr Watsons sausages, just the personal unobtrusive service you would expect from a top B& B 5 stars from me.

Will definitely visit and stay again !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I was delighted to find Cheshire House for our recent visit to Castleton. It's right in the heart of the village - location couldn't be better. There's a pub right across the street, and even tho it was very crowded with a major football match on, we could barely tell it was there. No disturbance at all. The breakfast, featuring local farm products was excellent. The breakfast room contains a wide variety of brochures for local attractions and walks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this very well run B and B in Castleton, so handy for bus, pub, footpaths and caverns. Our comfy room contained everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. We would recommend this and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

just had to say what a beautiful place castleton is and on a recent trip there my partner and i came across cheshire house, the owner was most wellcoming, the room was lovely and very clean, we had a very pleasant evening there and had a gorgeous ccoked breakfast, made from all fresh, local produce, the taste was second to none, would definatley go there again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast

Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheshire House is a friendly family run Bed and Breakfast, situated in the historic village of Castleton. The perfect location to discover the surrounding Peak District. The ideal base for superb walking, enjoying the Blue John Caverns, or simply relaxing. Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheshire House Bed And Breakfast Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheshire House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.