We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rushop Hall

Save Saved
You added Rushop Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rushop Hall
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Rushup Lane | Nr Castleton, Castleton SK23 0QT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great base for exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the pepper pot and had breakfast in the hall every morning. The cottage was so quaint and romantic. A real treat to have a log burner in the bedroom. Great views from the cottage. Splendid views of unspoilt countryside from Rushop Hall. The cottage was very clean and top marks for the shower room. The breakfast was super, bread was great, thanks Jan! We spent one evening at the hall for a three course dinner. Food was great and Jan and Neil were great hosts. We have already booked a stay with family over Easter. A great base for exploring the beautiful Derbyshire Countryside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just spent 2 nights as a Birthday treat at Rushop Hall and enjoyed every moment.Jan& Neil couldnt do enough to make us welcome.The house is beautiful and the rooms lovely.We chose to have our evening meals in and everything was spot on.Jan even suprised me with a birthday cake.We are so glad to have found this little gem and cant wait for our next visit.Many thanks Jan& Neil.Kath&Tony Conroy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for four nights B&B to give us time to explore this area of the peak district and had a superb time. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent and the welcome and help with planning each day could not have been better. Also so pleased we decided to be really lazy and eat in one night. The meal was exceptional and the overall trip brilliant value for money. Will be high on our list of recommendations to friends and family as well as for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a three night stay recently and absolutely loved it. Great location for walking. Nestled away in countryside, great views from breakfast room. Breakfast absolutely fab. Jan and Neil really lovely down to earth couple and great hosts. Lovely room, everything you want. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Rushop Hall with my family and honestly, I could write for hours about how wondeful it was. Jan and Neil are fantastic hosts and make you feel completely at home from the moment you arrive. Nothing is ever a bother and they always go that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.

We booked the 3 B&B rooms in the house, which were immaculately presented with great facilities and stunning views. Breakfast, included in your room price, is plentiful, locally sourced (some even from the property's farm) and cooked to order, served in the Hall's lovely dining room overlooking the fields. For one night we opted to eat dinner at Rushop Hall as well and we could not fault Jan and Neil continuing faultless service, warm nature...and most importantly, amazing food.

My family and I left feeling like we'd found a hidden gem in deepest Derbyshire, having enjoyed a lovely and relaxing weekend in a beautiful part of the world. I wouldn't hesitate recommending Rushop Hall to anyone looking for accomodation in the Peak District and will most certainly be returning again soon. It really is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We only stayed at Rushop Hall for one night but it was fabulous. A very warm welcome and nothing was to much trouble. The room was really spacious and comfortable and the en-suite very nice. The breakfast was splentiful and very nice. Not to mention the views which are stunning, thank you for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Despite arriving late in the evening we received a warm welcome to this lovely bed and breakfast. The room itself was extremely comfortable and lovely to come back to after a days walking. It was perfectly clean and tidy and furnished to a good standard. The en -suite bathroom was also very comfortable and immaculately clean.

The food (breakfast) was superb, with home made bread and a wide variety of choice. We felt very well accommodated and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would certainly come here again and would recommend Rushop hall to other travellers. The hall itself is ideally situated of those wanting to explore the Hope valley and surrounding areas. The views were magnificent and it felt a real treat to be there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rushop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushop Hall

Address: Rushup Lane | Nr Castleton, Castleton SK23 0QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rushop Hall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rushop Hall is a mixture of 17th & 18th century architecture, recently renovated to provide comfortable four star accommodation for our guests. Set in 40 acres of The Peak District National Park, the views are stunning and the welcome from your hosts, Jan & Neil, warm and friendly. Bed & breakfast is available for up to 12 people (6 within the main house and a further six in our newly renovated early 19th century stone barn). Self catering accommodation (for up to 14 guests) is also available in one of our beautiful stone cottages. Rushop Hall is licensed to serve alcohol with evening meals which are available upon request in our brand new dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Rushop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushop Hall Castleton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushop Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.