We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park, | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Lincoln UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Overnight stay at the Radisson Blu prior to catching an early morning flight to Tenerife. As airport hotels go this is of an excellent standard, the rooms and bathrooms are modern and large, I liked the fact that were were able to find space for two cases without them being in the way all the time. There is a good sized lobby with a bar and and plenty of seats. Food is available in the bar area but we chose to eat in the restaurant where we found a good choice of dishes at a reasonable price. What particularly impressed me about this hotel were the staff who seemed to have a genuine desire to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Of particular note was the night porter/shuttle driver he picked up our cases from the room and we did not have to touch then again util he dropped us off at the terminal where he insisted we wait while he found us a trolley. If we travel from East Midlands again I will definitely use the Radisson Blu again.

Room Tip: Runway view rooms let give you a good view of the airport activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Pugwash 123,

Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

It seems that you had a very relaxing stay prior to your holiday and I am so pleased that you found the team so helpful and genuine.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    216
    35
    10
    11
See reviews for
130
272
19
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in October last year, prior to our flight to Tenerife the next day. From beginning to end this was a wonderful experience, especially as all the staff were so pleasant and efficient. The interior designer deserves a medal for the amazing décor (check out the ‘bird cage’ lamp shades in the restaurant).Everywhere you look there is another amazing detail, which catches your eye.
Our room was wonderful, with a very modern, contemporary feel and was spotlessly clean. We stayed in a room with a walk in shower, which eliminated the need to climb into a bath for a shower. The toilet was separate to the shower room and separated by a unique dual -action functioning door which meant that you could close the door to the toilet area for maximum privacy but it could also be closed so that the toilet became one with the shower area but was in effect ‘closed’ to the rest of the room.
We enjoyed a very nice meal in the Runway restaurant, which was nicely presented and the staff were very attentive. It was very nice being able to look out on the runway and watch planes coming in to land.
The ‘grab and go’ breakfast was quite basic, an apple and a cereal bar, but kept us going until we could have something more substantial at the airport, and to be fair I have stayed at several airport hotels which only offer breakfast at an additional cost.
We parked our car at the hotel for the duration of our holiday and were impressed with the level of security. The courtesy bus was a very efficient service with hardly any wait for the bus to arrive and the drivers were very friendly and pleasant.
We really enjoyed our stay, thank you to all the staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear PippinBoo,

Thank you for your fabulous review on Trip Advisor!

I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience, and that you were able to share such great pictures of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Everything about this hotel is exceptional. From the service and the reception, the size and quality of the room, to the spa and the delightful breakfast. My full sized window even looked out onto the Runway (silently). This is possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Liam C,

Thank you for your amazing review on Trip Advisor.

We love it when our guests think that this is one of the best hotels they have ever stayed in, it makes us all extremly proud to work here.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a work conference and thought it was great. The rooms are stylish, comfortable and well equipped. The hotel has a great gym (a bit small but with lots of modern machines) and pool and offers free wifi internet access.

The food was great and the hotel is situated within a stones throw of East Midlands Airport and so would be ideal for anyone heading off on holiday.

Well worth a stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear jijwhite,


Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stopped for just one night on a kind of accidental basis. All i had were the clothes i stood in. Stayed in a double. All the toiletries and towels were top quality. As was the level of comfort and standard of decoration/fit out in the room. Super almost top floor room. Away from the lifts. No noise. Bed was supersoft. High quality soft furnishings. Minibar/fridge.

Buffet breakfast was super quality. A full range. Attentive staff. Good quick professional check in and out.

Bar was a bit pricey but then again you cant have it all ways.

One of the few hotels i couldn't actually complain about. Definitely stay there again should i need to.

Room Tip: Again as always, request a room away from the lifts to make sure of minimal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear MITCHPL,

Thank you for your amazing review on Trip Advisor!

We love to hear when we're getting it right! We're so pleased you had a great nights sleep in our super comfy beds and then enjoyed our fantastic Super breakfast the next morning.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our second visit to the excellent Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport hotel the previous visit being in January 2012.
We arrived in mid afternoon and immediately a very warm and friendly welcome from staff on reception. Check-in was quickly and efficiently processed and we were soon into our Business Class Room on the 4th floor which had views overlooking the runway. Our room was exceptionally well furnished throughout. The ensuite bathroom was well equipped and included a walk-in shower. Sound from the TV can also be piped into the bathroom. The ensuite also had clear glass panels loking directly into the bedroom. This slight lack of privacy seems to be becoming more popular and can now be found in many hotels.
Our King Size bed was extremely comfortable and afforded an excellent nights sleep.
We had reserved a table for dinner in the hotels Runway Brasserie where we enjoyed an excellent meal. Service at both dinner and breakfast was friendly and attentive.
Complimentary High Speed Internet access is available.
The hotel also has a very popular health club with heated pool.
Parking at the hotel was charged at £5 for the night.
The location of the hotel is very good being just a couple of minutes from the M1.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and intend returning once again within the next month.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor overlooking the runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear legend14,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

It's great to hear that our guests love to return to us, and enjoy their stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the next month.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We like this Hotel. It is where our holiday starts. The rooms are to be recommended especially the one overlooking the runway which we stayed this time, 7th February 2013. The breakfast was very good.
The staff are all helpful, friendly and efficient. Parking our car, transfers to and from the airport the Airport were problem free.
I would like to say a special thank you to Jones Hassell (driver) who found my Passport in the transfer bus which had returned us to the Hotel to collect our car..
Jones telephoned me immediately (I had not missed it). Jones offerred to bring it to Nottingham which is nearer to us, to save us a trip to Stanstead or risk posting it. As we visit Nottingham once a week this was a considerate thought. My Passport has now been collected. I am writing this review as a big thank you to Jones.

Room Tip: Business overlooking the runway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Susan270737 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very kind review on Trip Advisor.

I'm sure Jones will be delighted to receive such great feedback. Our team love to go that extra mile for our guests!

I'm so glad you got your passport back safely.

We look forward to welcomng you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park, | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***LUXURIOUS NEW RADISSON BLU HOTEL - EAST MIDLANDS AIRPORT****** NOW OPEN!! Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel’s 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso® coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel’s 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.