We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton East Midlands Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton East Midlands Airport to your Saves list
Hilton East Midlands Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Did the job!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

For £55 this was ideal for sleep and fly as we were flying out of East Midlands Airport the following day. The receptionist was helpful as she asked if we would like a taxi the following morning. This was a great convenience. Once in the room it was nothing "wow" and the decor was a bit dated and the wallpaper was torn in places. It had amenities we needed for the nights stay, such as room service which was efficient if not slightly pricey (£5 tray charge). For two courses, it cost an overall of £70, but this is room service and the food was nice and the waiter was friendly, bringing the food right into the room for us. Only moot point was that we had paid for bed and breakfast and due to the fact we were leaving for a flight at 0600 hours, we would have missed the usual breakfast times. In order for us to get the breakfast earlier, we were required to pay an additional charge, which in our eyes was unacceptable as we had already paid. All in all slightly pricey, however ideal location for flying and serves a purpose.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review.

Your feedback is valuable to us as it provides an insight into what our guests want and helps us deliver to their expectations. In order to keep our prices down for our leisure guests we offer meal discounts in the restauant so that one is able to get a 3 course meal at a really good value for money; currently just £15. Based on feedback from our guests we have now started the breakfast in the restaurant with a continental fare at 0600 and with full english starting at 0630 daily. We do hope that this service would go a long way in benefitting our early departure guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    317
    118
    73
    39
See reviews for
185
342
34
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Used for a pre flight airport stopover. And for that you have to say it just fitted the bill admirably. Perfectly located next to the M1 and only 10 mins drop off to the airport. Having used the hotels parking facilities the return airport pick up took an acceptable 20 mins. Otherwise the room was what you would expect of a Hilton. Clean, comfortable, usual room features including tea and coffee etc.all in all just a good uncomplicated stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review.

We are delighted that we were able to live up to your expectations.

Thanks you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Lovely hotel with great leisure facilities. Good value for overnight stay and parking for your car when you are away on holiday. I liked the fact the car stayed at the hotel and wasn't moved to another location. After a slight problem at check in we had a lovely family room. The transfers to and from the airport were quick and efficient. Overall very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Best deal of the century,what a great hotel!!!!!!.Purchased a stay and park deal and what a find.Great people,room top class,great deal on three course meal.Parked the car for 8 days with transfers to the airport free of charge.Thank you to all at the Hilton East Midlands.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are grateful for your generous comments about our hotel and our staff.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton East Midlands and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

got a very good deal through APH £69.00 for 15 days parking,transfers and a night bed on return from our holiday.On arrival at hotel very efficient receptionist, mini bus driver very friendly even though traffic to airport was chaotic due to Download Festival.On return we had a taxi transfer back to hotel.Again very efficient receptionist who got us checked in quickly, bar was still open at 00.35 am where we were able to get a drink.Room was very clean and comfortable.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your experience with us and grateful to you for giving us a 5 star rating.

Thank you for mentioning the driver and receptionist for efficient and friendly service. This goes a long way in rewarding good attributes in people.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful. We could not fault them. The room that they held the wedding in had 18 tables plus the top table which fitted nicely in a recessed part of the room that had a window behind. I suspect that anyone holding their wedding reception here will not be disappointed :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed the banquet facilites that we offer for weddings. Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating in your review.

Look forward to having you here again.

kind reagrds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

stayed here for three nights as part of download festival weekend package in june.cant fault the place, service excellent, friendly staff despite mud being trailed from one end of hotel to the other from all us rock fans! breakfast best i've ever had in a hotel ( and ive had lots) fantastic choice and quality, eggs cooked to order by a lovely smiling chef ( thanks jo wood), even smoked salmon! room clean and spacious, bed comfy and lovely hot shower, exactly what was needed after tramping round muddy fields for 12 hours. would definitely use again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and very grateful for the 5 star feedback given us.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton East Midlands and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#3 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton East Midlands Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.