We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle East Midlands Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle East Midlands Airport to your Saves list
Thistle East Midlands Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Midlands International Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bobbington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very good Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very good airport hotel, clean rooms, very helpful staff on reception, more of a personal attitude towards you, better that any other airport hotel used before, and used quite a few, walking distance to the terminal. Cant comment on the food, but will not hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    190
    115
    35
    19
See reviews for
61
238
33
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield, syorks,uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Expensive room service but the food is very nice! As we were starting our holiday we threw caution to the wind and paid 30 quid for 2 sandwiches! Lol
Lovely friendly staff and 2 min walk to the airport terminal.
Great deal on late rooms for a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor and I was really pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel particularly that you found the food very nice. I am very pleased you were happy with the value of our bedroom rates and our staff lovely and friendly.
We evaluate all guest feedback and use this to drive our training and to push our service to levels that exceed guest expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Yours sincerely

Richard Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had a recent 14 day hotel and car parking deal. Very friendly and helpful staff, nice clean adequate room on top floor. Did not eat at the hotel but arrived in time for happy hour! The drinks were expensive after 6.30pm. My husband used the leisure facilities and found them excellent.

I would definitely book this package again as it is literally a 5 minute walk to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor about your recent stay , we are delighted to learn you found your stay to be an enjoyable and convienient start to your holiday. I will have pleasure in passing your kind comments onto all of my colleagues for their friendly and helpful service - we do so find this kind of feedback encouraging.

I am glad you made happy hour and I take on board your thoughts about bar pricing, which do remain competitive with other local 4 star hotels - we will however consider this at our next price review.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Thistle East Midlands sometime in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Richard Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for work purposes in August 2012 and wasn't sure what to expect and I was not disappointed.

On arrival, all of the staff were helpful, friendly, approachable and couldn't do enough to help regardless of what it was.

The room, gym, pool and other facilities were all of excellent quality, well maintained and offered a range of things that any guest could usually ask for.

The bar and restaurant offered a wide ranging menu and if anything out of the norm was asked for the staff couldn't do enough to help. The food was of excellent quality and I can sometimes be a bit picky when it comes to restaurant food and they were excellent.

I can sometimes be picky when it comes to hotels I am not familiar with and was a little uncertain with this being so close to the airport and runway but it wasn't a problem at all. This is one hotel that I will choose to go back to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here with my family to celebrate my 30th birthday and it was excellent. Leisure facilities were very good. We dined in the restaurant and the food was superb and the staff were all very polite and nothing was a problem for them. Max the breakfast waiter was an assett to the hotel. Really excellent stay and would love to stay again and would definatley recommend it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoux, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a great find!! Had to catch an early morning flight and booked this on line as the price was good. Arrived around 5 pm to very well trained staff... Nothing was too much trouble . Offered me a free transfer to the airport ,(you could walk it in about 5 mins but with the British weather I didn't take the risk!!)wake up call and free use of the indoor pool sauna and gym. The room was a twin which was a good size, modern and very clean with tv and tea and coffee facilities.
Nice bar and restaurant too.Breakfast is also available from 3 am!! The staff really do a great job and I will be using this hotel next month when I return to the uk...... Well done thistle!

Room Tip: No lift so you may need to request a ground floor room if steps are a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here many times over the years and always lovely room excellent staff cant fault it, sadly the restaurant isnt that good extremely expensive, poor choice of drinks, stupidly we both ate the same meal and paid the price later that night, we left at 5am when restaurant was closed so unable to voice our dissapointment. Use the hotel its great but take a packed lunch or go to 1 of the other eateries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle East Midlands Airport

Address: East Midlands International Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is good to know we're the only Hotel on the Airport perimeter but sleep easy as we are set back from the runway! With 164 bedrooms including standard, executive and plenty of family rooms, all of which have air conditioning. There's fast & free Wi-Fi with plenty of secure onsite parking.A choice of relaxing dining options round the clock. Relax in our Otium Leisure Club.We are the closet 4 star hotel to Donington Park, near Alton Towers and accessible to Derby, Nottingham and Leicester with great Motorway and Rail access to all points of the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Thistle East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hotel Thistle East Midlands Airport
Thistle East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle East Midlands Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.