We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Airport stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overnight stay here prior to our early morning flight having booked hotel including 7 nights parking. Check in quick and efficient only hiccup was that I had been unable to input our car registration numbers online as it had not allowed me to ,so hotel provided me with number and had to phone the car park and input these myself as hotel reception informed me they were unable to do this. Ate in bar and pizza was of amazing quality.
Room was adequate for our stay, clean and of adequate size for our family. I did not have breakfast as we left at around 04:45 however other family members stated that this was good. Checkout process problem free. Would recommend this and will use again if we fly from EMA as good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Elizabeth

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your booking for the car park was made with a third party and is not controlled by us in any way - therefore we were unable to assist you in recording your car details - I am pleased that we passed the number on for you though.

I am pleased that your other family members enjoyed the early breakfast offering starting from 4.00 a.m. at this Airport Hotel.

Kind regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    103
    66
    17
    4
See reviews for
72
106
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked in here for an overnight stay before our holiday flight and it included 7 days parking. We have used Holiday Inn Express before and never been disappointed. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and you get free breakfast included. We also had an evening meal and were pleasantly surprised with the menu and standard of food. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. When we got to the car park the next day it was full but they upgraded us to the 'meet and greet' one which was a welcome bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKEGNESS
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for one night Wednesday 5th June 2013, we found the check in to be fast and professional.

Our room was excellent, nice and clean and very welcoming, with superb bathroom with a lovely shower.

Breakfast in the morning was very good and tasty.

Will be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights while my partner was racing at the circuit and i didn't fancy staying in camper van for 2 nights.Receptionist very helpful ,although restuarant had closed we were given loads of take away leaflets that we could have delivered to hotel.On second night we had evening meal in hotel and it was very nice. Breakfast was also very nice and was served from very early in the morning which was great for us.Also was very cheap and was clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Cupcake554

Thank you for taking the time to post your review folloing your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the visit and hope that next time you are in the area you choose us over the camper-van again!

Kind regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly check in, small bar and restauant but let us stay there until 2AM drinking with customers and rooms OK but a bit dated, could do with modernising. Breakfast was open at 5 which was great for an early flight

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Ben J

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our late bar opening times - and that you managed to partake of our early breakfast.

Hope to see you here again soon.

Kind regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived just after dinner service on a Sunday evening, but were told that they do pizza 24hours.

So we ordered one, 45 minutes later it still hasn't arrived.

The lovely receptionist sorted it out for us immediately and gave us complementary drinks.

It's how people handle the problems that count!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,250 reviews 1,250 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
3,616 helpful votes 3,616 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As a Platinum member I stay in Holiday Inn's regularly & there can be some really big variances in quality. This is a good one.
I stayed here with 15 customers, before heading off to Spain on an incentive trip. Hotel manger was very helpful regarding parking & allowed me to earn points on all the rooms, which was very generous.
I found all the staff to be helpful & pleasant & we all got a warm welcome. All good here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Address: Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to contemporary Express by Holiday Inn hotel at East Midlands Airport. With a great location, public areas & air conditioning in all guestrooms, you re sure of a great visit. We're just one mile from the airport and 35 miles from Alton Towers. Each of our 90 air-conditioned guestrooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children & feature flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, power shower, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities. Our room rates are competitive & include complimentary continental breakfast. For your convenience we also offer on-site car parking packages and deals including Alton Towers tickets. The Express by Holiday Inn s location is perfect for meetings with both the M1 Motorway & East Midlands Airport just minutes away ensuring easy access for delegates. Nottingham East Midlands Airport is served by major airlines including ThomsonFly, Ryanair and BMI Baby so we regularly welcome international guests for meetings in our 4 conference rooms which can accommodate up to 40 delegates. The refurbished Great Room is an informal place in which to relax with breakfast, chill out with a drink from the bar or enjoy an evening meal from our tasty menu.Our hotel is also a great location for visiting Derby & Nottingham, Donington Park Race Circuit, Donington Open Air Market, the Peak District or Alton Towers. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Express Castle Donington
Holiday Inn Derbyshire
Castle Donington Holiday Inn
Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.