We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasty curry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Of Bengal

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rose Of Bengal
42 Borough Street, Castle Donington DE74 2LB , England
01332 814737
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Derby
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great tasty curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ate here for a birthday meal.
Staff are very nice and accommodating, and the food is very nice and quick in coming out.
House red wine is very good too!
Great value for money too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    34
    13
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great evening at the Rose of Bengal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked for a party of twelve, before Download weekend. We turned up at 8pm as booked and were met with a friendly greeting and seated in a spacious area. We were able to order drinks whilst browsing the menu, and although we had a large party, the food came out together and the service all night was superb. No one was left waiting for anything.
The food was wonderful, and we all agreed how much we enjoyed our evening. I have eaten at The Rose of Bengal twice now and would happily recommend to any of my friend's..
A great evening!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“TEN OUT OF TEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been going to the rose of begal for some ten years. I lived in Castle Donington for some years and now live in Melbourne but still travel with friends or family to enjoy exellent food and delightfull hospitality. In my mind, "Forget the Rest", if possible I would give them 11 OUT OF 10. T.E.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rose of Bengal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been going to the Rose for the past 15 years and have never had a problem with the food, its always been fantastic. I've tried the other 2 Indian resturants in the village but I always end up back at the Rose as I feel that you can't beat it. My 8 year old daughter also loves it and would often say "can we go to the Rose tonight". All in all its the best Indian around whether it be a take away or a sit down you can't fault it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant food excellent service! Best of the three!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile


We have been coming to this restaurant for a few years now, we are not local to the area so we tend to visit all the restaurants in the area.

However we have found that this restaurant has always provided us with the best and most genuine service not to mention that the food is always ALWAYS outstanding and cooked to perfection!
The The Staff are very Friendly and very attentive.

over all a great experience, brilliant service and excellent food. Recommended out of the three! Need I say more.

We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Of Bengal also viewed

Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 

Been to Rose Of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Of Bengal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.