We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in lovely Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waltzing Weasel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Waltzing Weasel to your Saves list
The Waltzing Weasel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 New Mills Road, Birch Vale SK22 1BT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Birch Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay in lovely Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for just 2 nights to do some walking and found comfy rooms and good food. Plenty of parking space as well and though it is situated along the main road and we had a room on the roadside at night there's not that much traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
61
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for three days recently and I cannot make my mind up about the place. Mainly because we were well looked after by the staff, our room was clean, very comfortable and much larger than anticipated, more like a suite. It was actually a family room with an extra single bed in it. Comfy leather Sofa and half poster bed and large Bathroom (Room 6). Our window looked out over the pleasant garden and Kinder Scout beyond which was a joy to wake to - on a non rainy day it was stunning (which there were sadly few during our stay). The food although plentiful, lacked imagination and finesse and was a bit bland. I hope the new chef, who started a month back , will unfluence selection and presentation moving forward? We too felt the food prices were a little expensive for what was on offer. On checking out we also realised how expensive the bar prices were - £4.95 for a bottle of Strawberry cider? (£4.50 seems to be the going rate elsewhere). Having chatted to bar staff, it would appear that the website has not been updated for three years since the original owner, and the real ales listed in one of the photo's, which we were looking forward too, have not been sold there in all that time. I guess thats what troubles me about this place - its being left behind (not price wise though). It needs some umph & more professionalism to get people through the door. i.e. On the three nights we were there we did not experience anymore than four other people in the bar for the entire evening, which made the place lack atmosphere and a buzz. One evening there was only me, my partner and another chap - because we were told the "football was on the TV". How can an establishment anywhere continue in that way? Furthermore, when I booked and paid an £80 deposit way back in the Spring 12, I had to call and email three times to get a written confirmation of our booking. And I heard exactly the same conversation go on whilst we were there with another potential booking. Can a business really afford to be so lack lustre with regard to new business? Anyway, I wish this establishment well and my comments are made constructively, but Managment need to take a closer look and join the here and now. How about updating the website and starting a Facebook Page? The hotel we had stayed in three days previously emailed us the moment we got home to ask for our feedback via Trip Advisor, safe in the knowledge they had a good product worth shouting about. Food for thought WW?

Room Tip: Room 6 was good value at £80 per night B&B. Tt was large, comfortable and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were expecting a country pub with a cosy atmosphere and a relaxed dining experience, instead we found the Waltzing Weasel to be rather formal with little atmosphere and more of a restaurant feel. This was disappointing as the signage welcomes walkers and cyclists, which suggested a far more relaxed environment.

The food was good, while a little pricey at £11 for the Chicken and Leek Pie, however the portions were generous. There was only one real ale on when we visited, but it was a good pint and had been stored properly.

Not sure we will be going back soon, mainly due to the price of the food and the formal atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in this inn over night to attend a party in the local neighborhood. I was surprised by the spacious, clean and beautiful room we were provided with. We had an evening meal and can recommend the rib eye steak as it was excellent. In fact all the party I was with could not say enough as to how lovely their meal was. The staff were bright, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast the next day was all we could wish for and we went away very content. I would recommend this inn to anybody and we will be going back.

Room Tip: The room we had was no 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We live in the village (see my other reviews) and regularly use the Weasel, last night being Bank Holiday Monday we went for a meal.

Service EXCELLENT
Welcome FRIENDLY
Food SUPERB

They are absolutely wonderful, and did not disappoint last night.

Thanks Guys xxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went to this BnB on a Bank holiday weekend and stayed there for two nights. Location was nice, had splenty of parking space. But our room was like a loft. there was a small window on the ceiling but we couldn't open it as it was mouldy. The room itself smelled a bit of fresh paint with dampness combined. There was also not thermostat so we couldn't change the heating temperature. It was quite hot at night and we had difficulty sleeping. Otherwise the room and the bathroom were clean. It had a small garden. Not big enough like it is shown in the picture. But yes, you could sit there as they had benches and it was beautiful with lots of flowers and foliage.
They had a good selection of food menu but it was a bit pricey.
The staff was friendly and the service was quick. I am sure the other rooms were fine, we were just unlucky to the get the attic!

Room Tip: check the room before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This used to be the place we would go after a wintery walk as it was full of character, open fire, nice decor.

When we went in we werehit by the smell of bleachy cleaning products, harsh lighting and the characterful decor has now been replaced by framed prints of those godawful roly poly women.

What happened? It used to have such atmosphere, warmth and welcome and we just couldn't wait to get out of here this time. We didn't bother about dinner. The drinks were overpriced and we didn't feel relaxed or very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waltzing Weasel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waltzing Weasel

Address: 8 New Mills Road, Birch Vale SK22 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Birch Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birch Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waltzing Weasel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waltzing Weasel now with new owners since May 2013. The bedrooms has gone through a refurbishment and is now run a family as a Bed and Breakfast. The Waltzing Weasel historically dates back nearly 400 years and is ideally located in the walking country of the High Peak in the Peak District. Situated along side of the Sett Valley Trail, views of Kinder Scout and surrounding hills and moors can be enjoyed. The Waltzing Weasel makes an ideal venue for families, visitors, walkers, cyclist or stressed business people who want to chill and be pampered. Guests can relax in one of the eight luxurious bedrooms with en-suite. The Grande bedroom (Room 6) has a beautiful 300-year-old Jacobean half tester bed and leather settee for that added comfort. All rooms and public areas have free WiFi access. The Waltzing Weasel's offers breakfast in one of the best room in the house overlooking views of Kinder Scout. There is a courtyard and a pleasant garden where you can sit and enjoy the beautiful setting. The Waltzing Weasel's aim is to provide a civilised retreat for those looking for a welcome break. We are located only forty minutes away from Manchester and its international airport, and are in easy reach of Sheffield, Stockport, Buxton and Glossop. Those who enjoy walking or cycling or just relaxing in the countryside will be delighted with the location of the Waltzing Weasel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Waltzing Weasel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waltzing Weasel Hotel Birch Vale
The Waltzing Weasel Birch Vale, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waltzing Weasel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.