We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious home-cooked food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Sandbed Lane | Bargate, Belper DE56 0JA, England
+44 1773 525300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 65 Restaurants in Belper
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The pub is a beautiful grade 2 listed building situated just outside of Belper, that boasts a selection of real ales, ciders and wines.It has real open fires and has a cosy, relaxed and friendly atmosphere indoors and it also has a large beer garden to the rear of the pub for the sunny days.It serves delicious homemade food and traditional Sunday lunches which can be enjoyed either in the beautiful warm surroundings indoors or al fresco.The Hart has a selection of traditional pub games such as quiz nights, skittles, darts and dominoes.There are beer festivals with live entertainment and theme nights on a regular basis. We specialise in British classical food but with a twist.The opening hours for food are;Tuesday - Thursday; 12.00pm-2.30pm lunch & 5.30pm-8.30pm evening, Fridays; 12.00pm - 2.30pm lunch & 5.30pm - 9.00pm eveningsSaturday; 12.00pm - 4.30pm lunch & 5.30pm - 9.00pm eveningsSunday; 12.00pm - 5.00pm
Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious home-cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the White Hart for dinner. On both occasions the food has been delicious. There is plenty to choose from on the menu, including a great selection of twists on classic dishes, all complemented by the daily specials board.

All the food is home cooked, including the Christmas pudding - very impressed. The presentation is good, as are the portions. My steak was cooked just as I ordered it, which is a rarity in many pubs.

The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming, definitely a "locals" pub but with such a gem on their doorstep who can blame them? The staff are attentive, helpful and efficient. Good range of real ales on tap.

Very reasonably priced - two mains (inc. one 10oz sirloin steak), two puddings, two large glasses of wine and two pints of real ale = £46. We will be going back very soon, looking forward to trying the Sunday lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    9
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The best meal I've had anywhere in the last few years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Don't be deceived by the locality. People should be beating a path to the door.

My wife and I had the chicken and the pork on Saturday lunchtime. Couldn't believe our good fortune in following the reviews we had seen. Quantity is just right and the quailty using locally sourced produce is amazing. Great choice of drinks too and a warm welcome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food in cosy pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I visited here after hearing some great reports and we were mot disappointed! The staff were helpful and our food was served efficiently. The gorgeous menu gave us plenty of choices and the quality of food was brilliant..well cooked...good portion sizes...very tasty all round! Delicious 3 time cooked chips that made the meal... sadly didn't get chance to try the gorgeous puddings as we were too full...a good excuse to go back again! Not that we need one...looking forward to it already. Thanks to the White Hart team.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“White Hart Bargate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have now visited the White Hart three times now for lunch.

Each time the staff have been very attentive and helpful, the quality and standard of the food is excellent with a good variety of choices within a selective menu.

The chefs are always keen on feedback and seem to strive to test your palate at each visit.
All in all well worth a visit and good value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent private function - tasty hot buffet, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked the right hand bar for a birthday function for 20 people. Marcus, the chef came up with some lovely and original meal ideas at a reasonable price and was very accommodating to changes I wanted to make of what to include for the price. In the end we had a hot buffet consisting of 2 dishes which were really tasty and generously portioned with lots of meat, vegetable rice and homemade chips accompanyments, cheeseboard and pared fruit (which was v impressive!) and tea/coffee. We were allowed to bring (cut and eat) our own cake and the room was ours for as long as we needed it. We also were accomodated in putting up some decorations for the event. Nice real fire burning to keep us warm too. Very relaxed atmosphere with a professional service. The only thing I would comment on for future improvements would be that the buffet table could be moved to the side slightly to allow for more table space as a few people took their plates in to the other bar for more room.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.