We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gate House in Makeney

The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool
relax with a song or two by the piano
DINNER TIME FOR ALL YOU HUNGRY GUESTS SET THE TABLE FOR 17 OF YOUR CLOSEST FREINDS AND FAMILY
Plan tomorrow
Belper
|
Rental Home – 
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
358Jenny
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Can't recommend the Gatehouse enough! We stayed with a large group of friends with children of all ages. The kitchen is really well equipped for catering for large groups, more than enough pots and pans, cutlery, plates, glasses, etc, loads of tea towels, two big ovens, a gas hob with central wok burner, a deep fat fryer, and griddle: cooking heaven! The open plan style of the kitchen and living room means that cooking is a lovely social event. The large number of chairs and table space means that you can all sit down together to eat. Living room is really comfy with a cosy wood burning stove with logs provided. Lots of nice extra touches like DVDs, CDs, games and books for all ages. Separate utility room with washing machine and drier very useful for pool towels! Table football and piano in the huge space downstairs went down very well with all of the kids.
The beds are very comfortable, with lots of pillows, nice bed linen and loads of towels. Gorgeous bathrooms, some ensuite, with lovely big shower cubicles and power showers. And leaving the best til last, that pool! The photos just don't do it justice, lovely big pool with loads of comfy chairs around, shower, inflatables for the kids and a huge gym full of equipment. The security lock on both doors into the pool room is a great safety feature.
More than enough space to accommodate a big group. We were there in November so didn't get chance to make much use of the lovely huge garden area at the back of the house. It was great that dogs were welcome.
The owner is on hand to help with anything, and the area is just gorgeous, lots of nice walks straight from the house.
We are never going camping again! We are all saving our pennies for a return visit.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2013
Thankyou so much for your kind words i hope to see you all again in the future
kind regards
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jemma1988...
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Well I have just arrived back from my hen party, a three night stay at the Gate House and I have post Gate House blues.

When I arrived I was overwhelmed at how beautiful and well kept it was, the house had everything we needed and I thought that may have been a problem for 17 girls! The pool was a lovely place to chill out and relax, as were the beautiful gardens, the duck and chickens kept us entertained.

The owners were welcoming and friendly and were on hand to answer any queries.

I do not have a signal negative about the house, its amenities or the location (There's a pub very close which serves good food a supermarket near and plenty of shops)

On behalf of my hens we would like to thank the owners and recommend the house! Everyone is still discussing how amazing the house is! We have decided we are making it an annual girls holiday :)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Nothing!!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2013
Thank you so much we really appreciate your comments and may i say it was a pleasure having you all .Hope to see you again next year
kind regards
Tim & Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Patricia...
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The property is in a village community with shops and pubs easily available. The owners live adjacent to the rental property and are very helpful and obliging. The property itself is excellent with a lovely indoor pool which children would love. The property is very well equipped and the grounds very well kept and there is a Bar-b-Q area.
Would highly recommend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything was good
Liked least: Would like to see blinds at bedroom windows
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2013
thankyou for your kind comments and hope to see you and your family again
kind regards
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Karen M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The above says it all really! Wonderful house, amazing pool, lovely garden. Our family stayed with 2 other families with children ages ranging from 6 to 18. The children were either in the pool or playing outside. - the extremely large tv was hardly used. In fact, it was so good we have already booked a second day next year.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Lack of roasting trays in kitchen
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2013
thankyou for your review on trip advisor .See you next year
kind regards
Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tony M
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“7 Couples, 5 children aged 2-4 and one dog...lots of room and fantastic place to meet up and relax!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

If your thinking should I book? The answer is YES , you wont be disappointed. We booked to meet up with friends, being 7 couples, ( 1 couple with 2 children, 3 couples with 1 child and 3 couples who still prefer a sleep in..oh and Winnie my boxer dog)
The owners are friendly, approachable and will if you ask tell you the nice places to go, whether it be a nice local walk or as we discovered a fantastic roast dinner on a Sunday at the Holly Bush pub.
The garden to the rear is very private and is landscaped beautifully with child safe duck pond, decking area, where the owner provided a BBQ for us to enjoy alfresco dining.We were lucky to have the weather but don't worry if you have a spot of rain as inside even with a full house you can find a quite space to read or chill and relax by the pool or, if like us, you want to entertain the kids then spend 2 hours a day in the pool. In the evening we were able to enjoy the indoor heated pool and relax before bed time. Another bonus, if you like to keep fit, there is a nice small gym with 2 good treadmills and other machines, one ttreadmill will operate at at 6 min mile pace and the gym also has one of those vibro plates that burns 30 calories every 2 mins without doing anything.
No need to take all your food as there is a Morrisons store 2 miles from the gatehouse. For the guys there is sky sports, so no need to wait until the end of the football season to visit:)
We all had a fantastic time and we are hoping to go again, thank you Tim.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house and indoor pool was great
Liked least: nothing it exceeded our high expectations
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2013
thankyou Tony for your nice comments about The Gate House .I hope you and your freinds come back and see us
kind regards
Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$871
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Tim T
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2013
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing