We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armando's Restaurant

Armando's Restaurant
Bridge Foot | The Talbot Hotel, Belper, England
01773-82-22-58
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 59 Restaurants in Belper
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“2nd Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our second visit proved to be just as enjoyable as the first, this time taking family with us, they were as impressed as we were with the food, service and atmosphere.
I must say it was lovely to hear Frank Sinatra, and Dean Martin singing instead of the awful noise that is in most restaurants! (Call me old fashioned) thank you once again for the Limoncello, we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    8
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, welcoming people, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

When we got there after a long drive they were really welcoming, putting no pressure on us as to what time we wanted dinner. Breakfast was good, again very relaxed. We came back in the afternoon after a wedding, and even though they were closed and having their lunch, fed and watered us, and treated us like family!

Lovely people. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Special Valentines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked a table for valentines. The food was gorgeous and the service excellent. If you love Italian food cooked by an expert Italian chef visit this restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

After saying on a very cold day shall we, shan't we I phoned to make a booking and were so pleased we went. The staff were very welcoming, there was a lovely coal and log fire burning and were shown to a table by radiator and near fire, very cosy. The meal was superb and cooked and served beautifully.Then to top it all because it was my husbands birthday we were offered a liqueur on the house. We can't wait to go again and I know where I want to go to celebrate my birthday

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Masterpiece of Culinary Expertise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Firstly, congratulations to the Talbot. A magnificent fishy feast. A combination of the best produce expertly cooked with love, imagination and passion. Ive eaten at some of the "so-called" best restaurants in the World and The Talbot is in the top three. I cannot believe how inexpensive some of the dishes are.......Lobster, Dover Sole, Sea Bass, all under £35.00. In the big cities, triple the prices and then some............
Unfortunately, this site hosts the comments of some that appear to know the prices of everything but seldom know the quality of anything seemingly reflective of their McDonalds and KFC eating habits......enough said!! People will always vote with their feet hence the popularity of Belpers best kept secret. Try Jamie Olivers 15 in Newquay, try Rick Steins in Padstow, then try the Talbot.....its in a different league in every department. An owner /chief who cares passionately about the quality of produce and cooking, staff who have a passion for quality and service and a superb homely atmosphere created by the locals.
An amazing dining experience and I hope to visit again very soon when Im in the Derbyshire area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armando's Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Armando's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armando's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.