We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First break with partner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Lion Hotel
24 Bridge Street, Belper DE56 1AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“First break with partner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Took the opportunity to go here after seeing a really great deal on groupon, and we weren't disappointed!! Staff we're really helpful on arrival, room and en-suite looked as though they had been recently refurbished!! Full English breakfast was of the highest quality, even the size of the tea pot was incredible!! Evening meal on the second night was exquisite, overall a thoroughly enjoyable time, thank you all, we will definitely be coming again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and for taking the time in letting the TripAdvisor community know of your enjoyable time with us. Please keep checking on Groupon and Wowcher as we always have great deals coming up.
Kind regards and thank you once again.
Wayne Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    77
    68
    40
    29
See reviews for
42
137
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

my mother stayed at the Lion last weekend, as a break, she had a lovely en suite room, which was very big, and confortable. we joined her for lunch on the saturday, and found the food excellent, and the staff were very warm and efficient. One lady at the bar (whom I thought was the manager, but was not) could not do enough to accomodate us all! We had a wonderful time, and explored the local town afterwards. Very handy, as literally a minute from the station, on the direct line between Nottingham, Derby and Matlock in the Peak District.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Richard,
thank you so much for taking the time in writing your review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to being of service to you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards Wayne Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When we arrived for our 2 night stay, the check in staff were friendly and welcoming. We were given room Three and it was a real disappointment. On three of the draw units handles had fallen off or were loose. The ceiling was cover in polystyrene tiles which, if there was a fire in the room would drip hot liquid polystyrene in to the room. There were no bed side lights the decor in the bedroom and bathroom was tired to say the least. Our friend was staying in another room and it couldn't have been more different. It had had a refurb and was of a better standard. We went back to reception and I explained that we would have expected a room of the standard of our friend. Without hesitation he found us a new room (4) which was much better. That evening we ate in the hotel. The staff were really friendly but were clearly under staffed as we had to wait ages for our meals. Two meals came out to begin with and then sometime later the final meal. Breakfast on both mornings was good and once again the staff were very friendly. The hotel has lots of potential but certain aspects let it down, such as the stairs to the rooms needing a good Hoover. It is in a great location and could be a lovely place to stay. All the staff were great and were working very hard.

Room Tip: The rooms looking on to the main road were quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you so much for your review and for the positive points along with the negative. I appreciate the review as these are all passed on to the powers that be.
The directors are aware of the needs of the rooms and as you have said the staff are very competent albeit a little under staffed at times through sickness or holidays etc.
We do hope your stay was pleasurable after you changed your room. Thank you once again.
Kind regards Wayne Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I came as part of a hen party for a drag act night. There was 30+ of us booked on. Booking the tables was no trouble at all, the receptionist was very busy but gave us her full attention and printed off any information for us, even offered to send us the menu in the post rather than emailing it. A man who was present seemed to be the manager said would be no problem at all to bring bits and bobs to put on the table, they were very helpful and were very busy too.

When I came to bring balloons etc for the table again they were busy but it wasn't a problem to put it in the staff room, the gentleman again seemed to be very busy but accommodating.

When it came to the night the staff made me feel like we were a great inconvenience and were at some points very rude behind the bar. An older lady who served behind the bar and served food was the only waitress who smiled and made me feel welcome. The act was brilliant and the food was lovely, good value for money but the service wasn't.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you Emma for taking the time in posting your review. We are pleased that the majority of your experience with us was great, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your night and found the Ceri Dupree Experience a great event to attend.
However I was not too pleased to hear that your service on the night, of which I am looking into, was not so good.
I am sorry for the delay in the reply, but once again thank you so much for letting me know your thoughts. We do hope however, that you use our services again. Kind Regards, Wayne Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here at the end of August 2013 excellent service from all staff,great food , breakfast was outstanding ,we was the first people to use a groupon deal and we was treated no different we stayed two nights with breakfast both mornings and one two course meal which was very tastey.freeview in rooms quiet clean just a little dust around.room service best I have had...belper has a lot two offer on a short break ritz cinema great town shops , walks around river gardens.you have to try the fishermans rest pub the steak meal was to die for all local and tasty.above all great place great week end

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for taking the time in posting the review and letting everyone know. Kind regards.Wayne Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lovely old historical hotel with very friendly staff
Had dinner and cooked breakfast there on a package which was very good value
Open bar and sitting area plus outside seating
Close to centre of Belper and nice walks, local shops, parks, and the old Mills not far to National Trust attractions and of course the Peak District
On,y complaint was it was very hot and needs a fan in each room
Would choose a room with more cross draft if staying in summer again

Room Tip: Ask for room with good breeze number 10 was a good one for that but overlooked the garage next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you Denise for your great review. Sorry for the lateness in the reply.
We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay. And we appreciate you taking your time to post the review. Kind regards Wayne Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We only had one a night stay as we too were there for a wedding. We had the complete opposite experience of the previous reviewer. Our experience began when we suddenly realised the wedding kicked off at check in time therefore no time to don our Sunday best ! We telephoned reception who were calm welcoming and friendly. They promised to strive to organise our rooms asap and indeed thats exactly what happened. Parking was easy and very very accessible,our rooms were at the back and they were both clean spacious and comfortable. No night noise even with the windows wide open although it was a week day. Breakfast the following day was tasty, varied and a bargain at just £7 for what was on offer. We've been to Belper many times to visit friends and never needed a hotel however if you're thinking of a weekend break I would have no hesitation in recommending The Lion and only wish we could have stayed a little longer. Thank you to all the staff for a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Reading a previous review and considering the High St location if you're staying at weekend at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, General Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review. We are all really pleased at your comments and chuffed to bits that your experience at the Lion Pub with Rooms was a pleasant one.
Kind Regards,
Wayne Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: 24 Bridge Street, Belper DE56 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Belper
Best Western Belper
The Lion Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.