We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Railway Inn

The Railway Inn
120 Ashbourne Road | Shottle, Belper, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 65 Restaurants in Belper
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Thetford
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The buffet style meals we enjoyed very much. We were in rather a hurry so this type of meal suited us very well as we did not have to wait to be served. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, well cooked good food and a good variety.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    42
    10
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Earby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“family meal out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

what a choice of well cooked food!! We were a party of eight and we all had a different combination of the different foods, from the carvery style buffet. There was something for every possible taste.
The staff were very pleasant and the actual restaurant is quite nice. Will definitely visit again when in that area. Very good value for the money. Well Done.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have been here a few times over the last few months and its been great every time. The food is lovely as are the staff and its really reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend for a quick pub lunch and also a nice evening meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“REALLY LOVELY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my partner went here with some friends, with it being a Sunday I thought it would be really busy and would have to wait, to our surprise it was fine and could got drinks and food really quick. We hadn't booked but lucky the guy kindly got us a table.
For the food, was great value, around £9.65 for full carvery, incl three meats and best of all 8 selections of casseroles which were all home made and delicious!! Also full selection for veg and potatoes!
Will certainly be visiting again, makes a change from all the other toby cavery's !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great carvery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Turned up with 7 guests. Plenty of room and food was quick and delicious. Would happily come again. Kids welcomed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Railway Inn also viewed

Alfreton, Derbyshire
Turnditch, Derbyshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Railway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.