We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful short break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Makeney Road, Belper DE56 0RS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful short break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked the hotel for 1 night on a Groupon deal
The hotel is in need of some TLC in places.
We were disappointed with the afternoon cake which was only 1 slice each and was wafer thin,
the coffee was good, and the weather was lovely and sunny, just right for sitting in the wonderful garden. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, General Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, I’m pleased that you had a good stay with us.

We do currently have an in house refurbishment plan, recently completing one of our in house bedrooms.

I will pass on your feedback to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Makeney Hall Hotel.

Warm Regards


Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    185
    113
    81
    55
See reviews for
86
321
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at end of February for two nights in Nursery room in old part of the building
Very clean nice en-suite and ammple space
Good lift and nice stairs if lift not used
Comfortable bed and appreciated the tea/coffee facility

Room Tip: All good rooms seek old house accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, General Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, I’m pleased that you had a good stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Makeney Hall Hotel.

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Went for a Sunday night meal the setting is very nice and although there wasn't many in, two staff seemed like they had too much to do. They were pleasant enough but not really four staff. The set menu is £25 and the starters were fine but brad was not on the table and arrived a little late. The waiter forgot to ask how the main meal steaks were to be cooked and although cooked well there was a bit too much gristle which wasn't helped be knives that were not sharpe enough. The Banana Cheesecake although nice was more like mousse and the Chocolate brownie more like sponge. The vegetables served with four steaks were all in one bowl and although enough potatoes not enough veg and by the time the one bowl was passed around the steak were cooling down. Also although a skill juggling four or five starters or desserts by the waiter does not really convey care when the meals are delivered.
Nice venue, food ok but will not be rushing back as there is better elsewhere

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, General Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, these are valuable to us as it allows us to learn about a guests experience and then improve our product or services accordingly.

I do apologise that your meal wasn’t to the standard that it should have been and I do assure you that this isn’t our usual standard of practise.

I will pass on your feedback to the relevant departments so that they can progress and improve from it.

As I am unaware of when you dined with us, I’m afraid I am unable to check with the duty manager who took care of you that evening to see if you was compensated for the experience that you had, something I would have been able to do if your feedback had come directly to me, prior to Trip Advisor.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the future and restore the faith that is lost

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benin City, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wow Wow Wow - myself and my family stayed at this hotel last month and we had an amazing time - very clean, great food with lots of variety (and I am vegetarian), Staff went above and beyond for us they were wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we are looking to book a return trip already.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, I’m pleased that you had a good stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Makeney Hall Hotel.

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanwick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked the Hotel for a special occasion my husbands 60th birthday. When we arrived in reception a Wedding was taking place so it looked very busy. We had booked tea or coffee on arrival with cakes but decided to have it later and go for a walk until the wedding ceremony was over. I had paid for an upgrade on the room £20 - so I was really disappointed when I opened the door to the china suite and was greeted with a terrible smell coming from the bathroom. The suite was in need of a makeover and very cold no heating on, the bed was damp. I looked at my husband and I could tell he didn't want to stop. We decided not too stay and asked for a refund.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review, these are valuable to us as it allows us to learn about a guests experience and then improve our product or services accordingly. Had we of been made aware we would of happily offered you another bedroom or alternately found the source of the bad smell and rectified the issue. Housekeeping check all bedrooms before there let out to ensure there all to standard, so I do apologise if this wasn’t the case. We do have an internal maintenance scheme in place to improve some of our more tired areas, recently finishing one of our bar areas.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the future and restore the faith that is lost

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from this hotel and felt I must write the review straight away to try to stop other people experiencing what we did.
This mini break was a gift from my sister in law.
We arrived for our 2 night stay on the 10th of March ( our pearl wedding anniversay) We were put in an attick room that was very shabby and so cold we had to get into bed to stay warm ( room 23 ) we did complain and was told that the hotel is old and hard to keep warm, no comfort to us!!.
Our bed was one of those that you roll into the middle, I dare not look at the mattress, not wanting to see what I might find.
The whole place is dirty and uninviting. Please think twice abiout staying there!!.
Eileen Ward

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I’m really sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with us and I’m very shocked to read about the issues that you have experienced.

It is difficult for us to sometime heat the hotel, due to its age all of our in house bedrooms are different sizes, but we would of happily put the heating back on for you or given you a portable heater.

The room that was given to you is an original bedroom of the main house, all of our in house bedrooms have their own quirks and is something that we haven’t changed as we believe they should be in keeping with the main house and its age. I do apologise that this style of bedroom isn’t your preferred taste. Our courtyard bedrooms are much more standardised and may have been better suited to you.

We use an external cleaning company to ensure that all of your bedrooms are cleaned to the highest standard, so I will pass on your feedback so they can discuss with the housekeeping team.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the future and restore the faith that is lost

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were given a night at Makeney Hall Hotel as a Xmas gift from a close relative and with 2 children under 4 were really looking forward to a night away, just the 2 of us.

It was such a shame. I would actually have prefered to stay at home. We were in room 1 in the Courtyard. The room was old-fashioned but clean. The bathroom was a huge letdown. No shower! Just a plastic hose attachment to fix to the taps which didn't actually fit the taps so was of no use at all! We contacted reception straight away to request a room with a shower and were told the hotel was fully booked and we couldn't change. Obviously we were disappointed but we'd tried.

Sadly the shower issue was not the worst part of the stay. At approx 2 am we were woken by guests accessing the room above via the metal staircase outside our bedroom window. Then to our dismay we found out there were sound issues with the room. We could hear the guests using the toilet and every single footstep which made our ceiling creak unbearably. This carried on for half an hour until my aggravated husband shouted 'shut up'! Of course some noise is expected when staying in a hotel but this was dreadful. We were woken again at 6.30 to the people above moving about at which point we just gave up on sleep. It really was unbearable and I don't think room 1 can be used when the room above is also in use as the sound is shockingly loud.

I honestly felt I wish I'd stayed at home and at least been able to get a good night's sleep. We didn't complain in the morning because we were both so tired and fed up that our much awaited night away was ruined.

Yes the room was clean and we received a free bottle of wine but sleep is more important and I really feel this room is not fit for purpose. How much does an electric shower cost? And the noise was totally unacceptable I would recommend the hotel manager stays a night in the room with guests above to see just how bad it is!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 1 in the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I’m really sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with us and I’m very disappointed to read about the issues that you have experienced while with us.

We are currently looking into getting a shower installed into room one, this is a recent issue and I’m afraid it is more complicated than purchasing an electric shower, however I do apologise about the inconvenience this caused you and the issue will be shortly resolved. In regards to the noise this is something that hasn’t been reported to me before, but it is something I will certainly look into and rectify.

It’s a shame that you didn’t complain on check out as this would have been our opportunity to of rectified these issues and compensated you for the experience that you had.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the future and restore the faith that is lost

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel

Address: Makeney Road, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Orbitz so you can book your Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.