We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Makeney Road, Belper DE56 0RS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belper
St. Neot, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“2 night short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel after spending two night there. This is one of the friendliest hotels we have every stayed at. The location is stunning as is the building, it was so peaceful,the only noise was a distant train. We had upgraded to the larger deluxe room which was worth the additional £20 for the two night, (room 21) and overlooked the garden, our only disappointment was the bathroom, it had a large corner bath with shower mixer head but no shower as such so if you wanted a shower you had to stand up in the bath holding the shower head.

The hotel had a nice room with a real fire which we had drinks in each night. We did not eat here in the evening, but did have breakfast each of the two days. Breakfast was in the conservatory, which is stunning, we opted for the full English and was freshly cooked to order, and was hit and well presented. There was a table in the middle of the room where you could help yourself to cereals, fruit, fresh suit juice and croissants, toast was just round the corner which you cooked yourself, so was always hot. The service was amazing and quick and very friendly, I wish some of the other hotels we have stayed at had been half as good as this one, nothing was too much trouble for any of their staff,especially the reception staff.

I would highly recommend this hotel, it was clean and tidy with lots if character in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    185
    113
    81
    55
See reviews for
86
321
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Potentially a nice hotel in pleasant grounds, well-located in world heritage site - lots of good walkng and decent eateries and pubs nearby. An interesting history to the place too.
My mine gripe was that our room wasn't clean ...
- Dust everywhere - both days of our stay
- Grouting in en-suite very mouldy - easily remedied with a bit of bleach. Likewise mould and other uncleaned surfaces particularly around window in en-suite.
- Hair - presumably from pervious guest - on bedside table and in sink.
Also ...
- Dining room tables have central pedestals that hadn't seen a duster at their base for some considerable time.
- No channel changer for the TV on arrival - the night porter tracked one down for us - he was excellent
- No cups on our hospitality tray on the second day
- Sour milk at afternoon tea.
- Staff poorly trained in customer care
It wouldn't take much for this to be a really good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I used to work as a chef here 13 years ago and i must say its really gone down hill were the food is concerned.. things seem to be out of packets now and not cooked from fresh or made on the premises... shame as i do know in its time the food was excellent.. such a shame as i really wanted to impress my wife by having dinner there.. We had to send her main course back as it did not seem to be vegetarian spinach recotta, was advised it was recotta and came out of a packet when it was from the a la carte menu which really surprised me it was on the a la carte menu.. my advise is to go back to cooking from fresh...

Stayed December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I got married here back in August and the location and the conservatory were the main reasons for considering the venue. After tasting the food we could expect on the day we were happy with the choice, and most of the rooms we saw on the 'tour' we very nice indeed. Obviously you would expect them to show the good stuff on such a tour, but I didn't hear any complaints from other guests after their stay.

The day itself was excellent and we got the honeymoon suite we wanted (eventually!) and everything went very well indeed. The only criticism I have is that the wedding co-ordinator, although very polite and a nice person, did not fulfill our small requests despite being told (and seemingly making notes to remind her) and she generally seemed a bit disorganised. For example she asked which room we wanted for our wedding night and we told her, but this didn't get booked for us and we had another (inferior) room for the night. Luckily my wife stayed the night before and managed to rectify it so that we did get the room we wanted (thankfully it was still available).

We had some other small requests relating to the food, again notes were taken, but it still didn't happen on the day. We are pretty easy going people so these small details didn't have any impact on how much we enjoyed the day, but please be aware if you are using this hotel for a wedding please ensure that anything you may want that isn't the norm, you have to watch the wedding co-ordinator. Keep reminding her and make sure she does what you want if it's important to you. This is the only (small) negative and why it didn't get 5 stars. While we still loved the day, we expected a bit more from her. I know the wedding co-ordinator recently took on the role (as she took over the role after we booked the hotel), so maybe with time she will improve.

Luckily the guy looking after us on the day (Mat I think?) was a legend and took care of us and anything we could have wanted. Thanks Mat!

The food was excellent (considering most of the time wedding food can be like school dinners) and it was important to me to have good food at my wedding. The recommended disco (John Smith) was great as well and the DJ was reluctantly happy for me to change all the music he was going to play to stuff I liked by the end of the night!

Breakfast the next day was awesome too, with a selction of the usual stuff, but nicer than the usual hotel breakfasts, even the more expensive ones.

Had a great experience overall and will always remember this hotel very fondly!

I am sure we will stay again to help remember the day.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel, the rooms and views are stunning. For weddings: to ensure the little deta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Marivo,

Thank you very much for your review and I was very pleased to read your positive comments and that overall you had a great experience.
Both, our Wedding Coordinator and myself would welcome the opportunity to discuss in more detail your comments regarding the organisation of the event prior to the day. To this effect we will endeavour to contact you directly.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on trent
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wonderful hotel in exceptional grounds. Everything superb including staff and service in restaurant. Food excellent and a breakfast to die for. Drawing room had a lovely log fire and was a lovely room to sit in for coffee after our evening meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m delighted that you have had a pleasant stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Makeney Hall Hotel in the near future

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had read some of the previous tripadvisor reviews about this hotel, and had nearly been deterred from booking because of them. We were staying as a party using 4 different rooms. All of us were very impressed with our rooms - all very spacious, stylishly decorated, very clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms were slightly tatty, but very clean, and there was plenty of hot water. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant, and were impressed with that too. Overall I would be very happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us.

I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from a two-night "Groupon" deal to Makeney Hall. The hotel is in a lovely setting and parking was ample and convenient. When we arrived, we were allocated a room in the newer 'Courtyard' area. The room was fine but unfortunately the main radiator was leaking (and therefore not working). Concerned that we might feel cold over night we alerted the staff immediately who were quick to respond and allocated us a room in the main house, so no complaints there. We later had an evening meal in the conservatory restaurant as part of our deal, which was extremely pleasant - okay, the choice was limited, but there were meat, fish, salad and vegetarian options which were tasty and well-presented, and you could always pay supplements if you wanted a wider choice (we didn't bother - my son and I had pasta, my husband pork loin, all very nice). The next morning we had breakfast cooked to order in the conservatory, again very good, and then on Saturday morning breakfast was taken in another room, this time buffet style but, unlike other reviewers, no complaints there - the breakfast was still pleasant and plentiful.(I asked for a fried egg, not being that keen on scrambled, and it duly arrived, staff very helpful),
Yes - this hotel is a little frayed at the edges so if you're expecting top-notch luxury you will be a bit disappointed. However if you purchased this as a deal like ourselves, then it does represent excellent value for money (we only paid £99 for two nights B&B and meal on first eve - the hotel also accommodated our 14 year old son at a supplement of £54, also inclusive of meal on first night). Our only "complaint", and I notice another reviewer has recently mentioned this, was the softness of the double bed in the room (29) which really was incredibly uncomfortable - Makeney Hall please note, you really do need to do something about this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel

Address: Makeney Road, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makeney Hall Clarion Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.