We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for an early spring getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer House
Save
You added Pioneer House to your Saves list
Station Road, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 0BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Bamford B&B and Inns
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect place for an early spring getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The B&B was well located just outside of Bamford and was far enough away from Castleton to avoid the thriving (and at times somewhat tiresome) tourist population/traffic.

It proved an excellent base for visiting the local area with pretty much all the popular local attractions within a 15 minute drive - Castleton, Hathersage, Stanage Edge, Eyam and Ladybower Resevoir were all easily accessible.

Upon arrival we were politely greeted and shown to our room, which was well decorated, well located within the property and had an ensuite shower/toilet facility along with what you’d normally expect (wardrobe, drawers, dresser, TV etc..)

The breakfast was served at 8:30 and offered a good selection of cereal, toast, juice and yoghurt along with a tasty full English.

Would definitely recommend to any potential visitors.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your break in the Peak District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a great B&B - comfortable, cosy, impeccably clean with a great breakfast: quality ingredients and cooked well. We had room 1 for the bath - it's a deep roll-top and was very welcome after a day's walking. There was always plenty of hot water and clean towels.
The bed linen was really soft and cosy and the double bed was firm.
It's a great base for walking along River Derwent or up in the peaks. Birdwatching here is fantastic and we were also lucky enough to see two mountain hares in white coats on a walk David recommended.
We went in March and took advantage of the 3nights for price of 2, so it was exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks Laura for your review. It's nice to feel appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Have just returned from a 4 night stay at Pioneer House. It was clean and very homely and the beds were extremely comfy.We had Room 1 with the lovely bath which was great after our walks. Dave and Janet were friendly and the breakfasts were plentiful. Although we didn't use the local transport, I know there was a train station and a bus stop within striking distance. Dave and Janet provided lots of information if you needed it and it is ideally placed for exploring the Peaks and the Dales. Although situated on the road, we did not find it at all noisy. There is a lot of choice for eating out in the evening, with the Yorkshire Bridge pub only a mile or so up the road as is the Rising Sun hotel and the excellent Samuel Fox Inn which is about 3 miles away at Bradwell. For even more choice you can get to Castleton in about 15 minutes. I definitely wouldn't be afraid to recommend Pioneer House to anyone looking for a B&B in the Peak District.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you Maggie for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

A well situated B & B for exploring the area. Very comfortable beds with a lovely breakfast to set you up for the day. Plenty of information and help to organise your day. Bus and train station a short walk away. Digital TV is not great but that's not why we came to the Peaks.
Plenty of hot water to soothe tired muscles.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Than you for posting your review.

The poor TV reception was due to a faulty batch of TV's and they have now been replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for three nights in August. The owners are very friendly and the breakfast is perfect! The guest house is situated on a road, but it's a quiet road with very little traffic at night. The back looks onto sheep-infested hills. Very nice. Location is great for exploring the Peak District. If you like driving along twisting roads with views of the heather-covered hills, drive down The Strines nearby, towards Sheffield (up towards the dams, right at the T, then left).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. It's good to see that we are receiving more visitors from Eastern Europe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend. Pioneer House is very homely; our room was quirky and comfortable and I slept like a log in the lovely bed. There was a fairly new flat screen TV in our room but it only had 5 channels.

It is well connected - the train station round the corner gives easy access to and from Sheffield and Manchester. Pioneer House is just down the road from the picturesque village of Hathersage and it is of course surrounded by the beautiful Peak District.

The only somewhat negative comment I have is about breakfast. I should first mention that breakfast in Pioneer House is a pleasant experience - the breakfast room is charming and well stocked, and cooked breakfasts are plentiful. However, we were asked as soon as we arrived what we wanted for breakfast the next day (hadn't even thought about it), and when we came down on the second morning we were expected to have the same thing as we did the morning before without being asked, which I think is a bit unreasonable. Otherwise, the service was friendly and helpful.

Would recommend a drink at the Angler's Arms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I should point out that although we asked for your breakfast order the night before, this was not set in stone and you can of course change your mind at any time. If you had asked us for a different breakfast on your second morning we would have been only too please to cook it for you. If I did not make that clear at the time then please accept my apologies and I hope it did not spoil your weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our weekend. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, but reatined a homely atmosphere. I particularly appreciated the victorian bath. There was plenty of hot water to sooth tired muscles after walking miles in the surrounding countryside.

The owners were friendly, helpful and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back for another weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1, with the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for being so complimentary about your stay with us and for sparing the time to write about us on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to welcome you both and are only sorry that it was not for longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pioneer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer House

Address: Station Road, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pioneer House is set in the stunning Hope Valley between Hathersage, Hope and Castleton, and is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful and interesting area, whether walking, climbing or just sightseeing. Our lovingly restored home is relaxed and friendly with three comfortable bedrooms that have up-to-date en-suite or private facilities. We are very well served by public transport with trains on The Hope Valley Line from Bamford Station a few minutes away, giving easy access to Edale for the start of the Pennine Way and the stunning plateau of Kinder Scout, or to Hathersage for Higger Tor and Carl Wark, and Grindleford for Froggatt Edge. Sheffield city centre is conveniently only 20 minutes away. The dams and reservoirs of the Derwent Valley are just a couple of miles away and are easily reached by the local bus service. For the more adventurous this service also gives access to the northern moorlands of Bleaklow, Howden and Derwent Edge. Alternatively there are many other excellent walks straight from our door ranging from easy to strenuous, so just leave your car on our drive and enjoy a carefree day out on the hills and moors of one of Britain’s most spectacular areas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.