We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer House
Save
You added Pioneer House to your Saves list
Station Road, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 0BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Bamford B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location and great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for three nights in August. The owners are very friendly and the breakfast is perfect! The guest house is situated on a road, but it's a quiet road with very little traffic at night. The back looks onto sheep-infested hills. Very nice. Location is great for exploring the Peak District. If you like driving along twisting roads with views of the heather-covered hills, drive down The Strines nearby, towards Sheffield (up towards the dams, right at the T, then left).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. It's good to see that we are receiving more visitors from Eastern Europe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend. Pioneer House is very homely; our room was quirky and comfortable and I slept like a log in the lovely bed. There was a fairly new flat screen TV in our room but it only had 5 channels.

It is well connected - the train station round the corner gives easy access to and from Sheffield and Manchester. Pioneer House is just down the road from the picturesque village of Hathersage and it is of course surrounded by the beautiful Peak District.

The only somewhat negative comment I have is about breakfast. I should first mention that breakfast in Pioneer House is a pleasant experience - the breakfast room is charming and well stocked, and cooked breakfasts are plentiful. However, we were asked as soon as we arrived what we wanted for breakfast the next day (hadn't even thought about it), and when we came down on the second morning we were expected to have the same thing as we did the morning before without being asked, which I think is a bit unreasonable. Otherwise, the service was friendly and helpful.

Would recommend a drink at the Angler's Arms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I should point out that although we asked for your breakfast order the night before, this was not set in stone and you can of course change your mind at any time. If you had asked us for a different breakfast on your second morning we would have been only too please to cook it for you. If I did not make that clear at the time then please accept my apologies and I hope it did not spoil your weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our weekend. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, but reatined a homely atmosphere. I particularly appreciated the victorian bath. There was plenty of hot water to sooth tired muscles after walking miles in the surrounding countryside.

The owners were friendly, helpful and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back for another weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1, with the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for being so complimentary about your stay with us and for sparing the time to write about us on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to welcome you both and are only sorry that it was not for longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We had a lovely time here thanks to our wonderful hosts who ferried us everywhere as we had no car. The place is very nice and we would stay again. Thanks AAA111+++

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerhouse, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you Linda for choosing to stat with us once again and for your review. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Easy to find and located in a good spot to visit local places such as Hathersage, Castleton and Chatsworth. Comfortable rooms which are beautifully decorated - loved the vintage bathroom! Very comfortable beds. Friendly and helpful
service and food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

This was the third time i've stayed with Peter & Janet so i think this speaks for itself. The fist two occasions was with my wife (Frances), but this time it was my retirement treat,and what a place to stay nothing is to much trouble for Peter & Janet to do for you, a nicer couple you could not meet. Accomodation is spotless our room (No2) was cleaned every day a really comfortable bed which is so nice not having both of you rolling in the middle. Full english breakfast really sets you up for the day plus you have the choice of cereal tea/coffee orange juice toast so i can asure you that you do not go hungry.Don't worry if you come up by car you can park in their driveway or you can park in the layby right outside.Nice walks can be had from the front door i won't go into detail best you get a copy of the A.A. walks in the peak district or just ask Peter.I could go on a lot more, but to appreciate Pioneer House, Peter and Janet you really MUST stay there.
A quick message to Peter & Janet see you again later in the year for a 4th time.
Barry & Frances

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet T, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a marvelous review of your time here at Pioneer House B&B. We are of course delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that you appreciated the efforts we make to ensure our customers are happy and comfortable. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The proprietors made us feel welcome, knew the area and were extremely helpful.The breakfast was very nice and set us up for a days walking. The accomodation was comfortable and a pleasure to return to for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet T, Owner at Pioneer House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank your review and we are so pleased that you rated your room, breakfast, service, cleanliness etc all so highly. We work extremely hard to maintain the highest standards we can and it is so rewarding when customers appreciate our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pioneer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer House

Address: Station Road, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pioneer House is set in the stunning Hope Valley between Hathersage, Hope and Castleton, and is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful and interesting area, whether walking, climbing or just sightseeing. Our lovingly restored home is relaxed and friendly with three comfortable bedrooms that have up-to-date en-suite or private facilities. We are very well served by public transport with trains on The Hope Valley Line from Bamford Station a few minutes away, giving easy access to Edale for the start of the Pennine Way and the stunning plateau of Kinder Scout, or to Hathersage for Higger Tor and Carl Wark, and Grindleford for Froggatt Edge. Sheffield city centre is conveniently only 20 minutes away. The dams and reservoirs of the Derwent Valley are just a couple of miles away and are easily reached by the local bus service. For the more adventurous this service also gives access to the northern moorlands of Bleaklow, Howden and Derwent Edge. Alternatively there are many other excellent walks straight from our door ranging from easy to strenuous, so just leave your car on our drive and enjoy a carefree day out on the hills and moors of one of Britain’s most spectacular areas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.