We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Callow Hall

Callow Hall
Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
(01335) 300900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 66 restaurants in Ashbourne
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
peterborough
1 review
“Afternoon tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

As a family we really enjoy afternoon tea, and so it was, as part of my youngest daughters celebration of her graduation the day before in Manchester, that she chose to have afternoon tea en route to going back home to Cardiff at Callow hall.
This had been pre booked and there was the option of Champagne for those who wanted.
We arrived as planned and booked on a Friday afternoon at 3.30pm. It was glorious weather and the place looked lovely, but quiet with staff busy getting ready for a wedding celebration.
We announced ourselves and as a result of the surprise in the body language of the young lady in attendance, one wondered whether guests showing up for afternoon tea is a rarity.
That said, we were ushered quickly into a side room which was not set up for any other purpose other than a lounge area.It certainly was not set for afternoon tea, and as there were four of us, we proceeded to arrange the furniture for our comfort. After a short while, the afternoon tea arrived, No offer of champagne was made, so we did not press, and to be fair, the afternoon tea was very nice. There was however, a nervousness about the service, and the staff passing by the open door to the room where we were seated, couldn't help but gawp each time they passed. There was no background music either to create some form of atmosphere, which did feel like we were having afternoon tea in the middle of a full blown function set up.
The hotel was once a Von Essen hotel, a group which collapsed with major debt after grossly inflating their capital value, therefore the owner has some way to go, to restore the hotel to it's former glory, whch does appear a little jaded.
The staff were young, pleasant and attempted to please, but there was a distinct lack of supervision, until we came to pay, and I assume that it was the owner who barged past me and highjacked my conversation with the receptionist.
Would we go back, for sure if more effort was made to improve the welcome and the overall feel of the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    13
    14
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A friend and I visited Callow Hall for afternoon tea. It was pouring with rain when we arrived and a member of staff came out with an umbrella to shelter us into the hotel. We were shown into a comfortable lounge with a log fire which was really welcoming on such an awful day. The sandwiches were freshly made and tasty. The cakes, scones and cream were excellent. A new pot of tea and hot water was replaced whenever we asked for it. The service was excellent and staff polite and attentive. This was much better than the afternoon tea we had had at East Lodge on a previous outing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Changes have enhanced the atmosphere!! Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My Husband and I went to Callow hall this week for our 3rd Wedding Anniversary. We go every year to celebrate as this was the location where we got married.

This year I was a little apprehensive, as the Hotel / Restaurant had been taken over and was no longer a Von Essen hotel, but was now privately owned, and I was concerned it would not be the same.

Well, the update is that there has been some changes - but the good news is that the changes are all for the better. There has been some limited updating downstairs, with new toilets for both ladies and gents, some small changes to decoration - red room is not quite as red now and the old drawing room and dining room have exchanged places. This final change gives the diners a much nicer view from the window, overlooking the valley outside.

Food was fantastic, service was very attentive but relaxed, we certainly did not feel rushed and the new General Manager (sorry did not get the ladies name) was really nice and very professional, we liked her very much.

Well done to everyone there, we had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Disappointed really, service poor, why don't waiters look round to see if guests need them when they come into the room? waited ages to get the tea changed as the water tasted of chemicals,(so did the table next too us), sandwiches tasteless, chilled straight out the fridge, so obviously made that morning, no shortbread as advertised, nor ginger cake, no log fire, .....no fire at all.
Very disappointed, no finishing touches ,

On the plus side the scones were warm and fresh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“The perfect place fpr our wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I were married at Callow Hall in December 2011, and we returned there for our first anniversary dinner in December 2012.
This is a super privately-owned country hotel. It has 'olde worlde' quality service, and great food and drinks. We have promised each other that we'll go back (at least) every anniversary. A very nice wedding venue, and an excellent high-end dining experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callow Hall also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Callow Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Callow Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.