We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Kids in a sweetshop"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Trust Museum of Childhood

National Trust Museum of Childhood
Sudbury Hall, Ashbourne DE6 5HT, England
01283 585337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Attractions in Ashbourne
Type: Children's Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Kids in a sweetshop"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went as a party of 25 adults and 6 children during a family reunion in Ashbourne. The museum kept everyone entertained from the oldest (in her 80s) to the youngest (19 month old). The staff were friendly and helpful. We spent a lot of time saying "I remember ..." or "I had ..." and there was much laughter amongst us. We then went into the tearoom for a refreshment break and the staff were equally helpful in there. The food looked delicious but my husband and I only had drinks so can't comment. Overall, a good trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Takes you back in so many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fantastic display of toys both new and modern and makes you remember all that you had and you had bought for your children. Very many hands on displays for children tool

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brings back so many memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I visited this sometime last year (can't remember when), and it brings back so many memories, it was great to show my kids what I played with as a child. Was a member of the National Trust at the time, so can't say whether it was good value, but we all enjoyed it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I actually covered this in my review of Sudbury Hall, it was excellent and well worth a visit a real trip down memory lane

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All ages will enjoy this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Everyone will enjoy taking part in the lessons in the school room and the children climbing up and down the chimneys like sweeps!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Trust Museum of Childhood also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to National Trust Museum of Childhood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Trust Museum of Childhood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.