We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coach and horses

Coach and horses
27 Dig Street, Ashbourne DE6 1GF, England
+44 1335 346240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 72 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Waited an hour for my burger, chips and garlic bread to arrive. Staff seemed disorganised and the bar manager slightly rude in some of his customer responses. Such a disappointment that the food (which tasted very nice once it finally arrived!) was totally let down by the wait and poor service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    6
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to try the newly revamped coach and horses, only to be massively disappointed. We were served by a young bar man that was too overfamiliar, calling us "sweetheart", "darlin", "honey" - how unprofessional?! They'd advertised cocktails on an A-board outside the pub so we asked if we could see a menu, "give us chance love" the barman replied. "We've only been open 4 days, we haven't even got the machine!" Well why advertise you offer cocktails then? As my friend was thinking what to order, after the surprise of no cocktails, the barman went off to serve someone else! We were then kept waiting to have our order taken. There was no ice for our drinks and I was given my £3 change in 10p's as they had no change. The place has been decorated to a high standard, what a shame the unorganised, unprofessional staff let the place down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service, maybe revamp the decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had an early evening meal here whilst travelling through the area. Friday is advertised as fish and fizz night. Not sure about the fizz but was driving anyway so just went for the fish.
It's a typical decent pub grub sort of place. Friendly, efficient staff (early evening is all we can vouch for). The food was nicely presented. See pictures by Eileen Dover. The liver and mash was tasty and cooked just right. The fish came in a light batter and the chips were crisp and tasty.
Nothing too fancy; just straight forward and no nonsense.
In terms of interior design,it could do with a bit of a refresh as the decor was a bit..... confused; strange mix of old, new, too many colours and patterns and wall pictures of carnation milk (am I missing something?)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Won't be going again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to this new eatery in Ashbourne but did not live up to expectations.
On arrival the 2 girls behind the bar had a job to speak. No smiles, no hello, no nothing. It felt very uncomfortable. There was only another 6 people in so was quiet. My friend asked what drinks they had for kids and she said 'nothing!!' We spotted j20 so ordered that. Not a good start.
Went to order food but could not find menus. Asked the waitress and she said she would bring them out. We duly sat down and the waitress began putting menus on all the tables. Didn't bother to give our party of 8 one though! Ended up going and getting some off another table. Menu was extremely limited. Kids menu was even worse. We were thinking of leaving at this stage but didn't want the hassle so ordered our food and 45 mins later it arrived. Was ok but certainly nothing special. The soup was strange and the amount if butter for the roll was nearly as big as the soup bowl! A couple of the mains came out wrong as well. The girl was unsure how to put the order in the till so mistakes are going to happen. More training needed here! The service and welcome was dreadful and certainly not inviting. Very surprising for a new pub. There are lots of issues at this new establishment that need ironing out before we make another visit. I hope they do sort it out as the place is lovely and obviously lots of money has been spent here in the transformation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“3 out of 4 meals unavailable,Irish male manager rude, room cold.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We live in Ashbourne and were excited when the Coach and horses had a face lift.
last night we decided to take my 80 year old mother and her friend for a meal out as a treat.
A treat in deed was in store.,,,,,,
The menu outside said 2 mains and a bottle of wine £25. When i asked about this the barmaid was unaware of such a deal. The Manager snapped this was not available as he had no menus for this deal.
So we ordered drinks ( which took 3 attempts as the first 2 beers were off) and chose our meals from the menu on the table. I went to order and the Barmaid went to check the fish was available. The chef came out and said there was no smoked haddock as the fish man did not deliver till Tuesday (this was Monday night). We decided that as the room was so cold and our guests did not fancy anything else to eat, we would leave.
I went to the bar and suggested that due to the time we had wasted, the freezing temperature, limited food choice we were living and suggested that our drinks should be free as we would not have ordered them if we had know all this before hand.
The manager then came over with a bill and said we had to pay, I explained our experience and he said " he had just arrived from the airport and we would be paying!" I continued to put our point over at which point he rudely told us to drink up, leave and not to come back !!!
Fortunately my elderly mother found it amusing to be kicked out of a pub at her age.
I found it very disappointing and only wish the owners read this review.......

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach and horses also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Coach and horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach and horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.