We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Station Hotel to your Saves list
The Station Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value, outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic stay at The Station Hotel. David made us feel very welcome, and went out of his way to assist us with various bits and pieces. There was plenty of parking, the room was very comfortable and well equipped, and the food (both dinner and breakfast) was spot on. Couldn't be happier with our experience there - we are really looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review, we are always delighted to hear that you both had a wonderful stay. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    71
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
124
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay and I must say I wasn't expecting too much for the price we paid, but was pleasantly surprised. Our host David was very attentive from the moment we arrived and all through the visit. The room was comfortable and clean, with extra touches such as nice toiletries, towelling robes and lots of white fluffy towels. The evening meal was included in our package and what a treat it turned out to be. It was excellent, as was the breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Station Hotel and would certainly return in the future.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Station Hotel. It is always nice to be pleasantly surprised! We are also delighted that you enjoyed your evening meal and hope that you will return in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

lovely hotel lovely decor .bit disappointed of the bar not serving more variety of drinks.beth is a lovely host the evening meal was lovely as well as breakfast.would come again when the bar is renovated.only if we can have room 22 .

Room Tip: room 22 lovely four poster bed plenty of room lovely bathroom with a bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you liked your room. We have changed our bar area just recently and there are now a number of locally produced beers on pump and in bottle with an extensive wine list. We hope that you visit us again in the future should you return to Ashbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Me and my fiancee were in the area after visiting alton towers. After having trouble with another hotel we had booked we found the station hotel as an alternative. As said in other reviews the outside of this hotel does not do it justice. The staff were very friendly and efficient in sorting our booking which we had to change through Expedia. The hotel has a lovely family run feel and although the hotel is not modern in style and decoration, everything is very clean and had everything we needed. Upon entering the room we had 2 dressing gowns laid out on the bed and a very comfy bed and flat screen tv. Overall the room and bathroom was very clean and I was very impressed. We ate in the restraunt that evening and were allowed to order from the lunch menu and it was lovely. The next morning we had breakfast which was excellent. A selection of cereals, yoghurts and juices. Along with fresh tea and coffe, toast and full english breakfast. Thank you very much for our stay and if going to Alton towers we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Station Hotel. We are indeed a family run Hotel and appreciate the "Recommended" rating that you have given us. We look forward to your return visit should you come to Ashbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The outside of the hotel does not do it justice . When my husband booked it I looked online and thought oh no , it's old fashioned and dated . When we arrived we were led to our room and found a four poster bed, huge bathroom with robes . Yes it's not contemporary which I would normally go for , I loved the decor , the fabrics . The owner made us feel so welcome and recommended restaurants in the town . The breakfast was perfectly cooked and we chose to eat there on the 2nd night , the food was stunning if you are reading this and looking for somewhere to eat I would definatly recommend the restaurant and its far cheaper than the ones in town . We'll be now making an annual visit to the station hotel at Ashbourne . The Mitchell's xx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you Mr & Mrs Mitchell for writing a review about your recent stay at the Hotel. Its not for the faint hearted trying to soften a three story black and white Victorian building, but as you say we have filled the rooms with antique furniture, king and super king beds mostly four posters and added all the comforts our guests deserve when having a holiday or short break to recharge their batteries. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal. We very much hope that we can welcome again next year. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and it was decent value. The hotel has a decent car park, which is a bonus given Ashbourne's parking problems and its location close to the town centre. There is no question the hotel could do with a change in interior decor and upgrading, as it does look old and a bit tatty, but for the amount we were paying the room we had was fine for a night or two. We met 2 staff members, and both were brilliant, and the English breakfast was delicious. All in all, a value for money hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Station Hotel. We do like to present the Hotel as a period experience and offer the comfort and what is extremely important but sadly lacking in so many hotels, the personal staff service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that should you visit Ashbourne again in the future we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Wanting somewhere relaxing for a family meal in Ashbourne, we popped into the station hotel having seen they were now doing food again. What a fantastic surprise! Although a little quiet as it was mid week and the restaurant is newly reopened, the service was great, the building is hisptrically beautiful and the menu is seasonally apt! This resturant is fantastic is you are looking for a beautiful meal. The food is freshly made and sourced from local suppliers a great addition to an already lovely historical town. Looking forward to my next visit as I couldn't decide what to choose from!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the your experience of the food and restaurant at the Station Hotel, we are also delighted that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Station Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.