We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoutely fantastic bed&breakfast!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Bank Guest House

Thistle Bank Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistle Bank Guest House
24A Derby Road, Ashbourne DE6 1BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Ashbourne B&B and Inns
dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absoutely fantastic bed&breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hi there..my girlfriend kerry and me,mark,along wth four children stayed here for one night(sat 31st aug 2013..first impressions......OMG,WOW!!!!cindy&john are the perfect hosts..we had two bedrooms,one being a double,the other being a family room for the children.both rooms immaculate,exceeded all our expectations and more..we would thoroughly recommend this bed&breakfast without doubt...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Superb location if you are wanting to be near Alton Towers on 17mins away. Lovely family run establishment it is clean and modern and very close to good restaurants, shops and facilities. Will definitely be back again next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you like homely environment, hosts who go extra mile to make you feel comfortable, people who run a B&B with passion and someone with whom you can always have a conversation then this is the place to go.

Stayed here for 2 nights as a family for our visit to Alton Towers and had an extremely satisfying time at the Thistle Bank. The location in the little town of Ashbourne was perfect as I was looking for a place which is not too commercial and not too close to Alton Towers. From here it is an easy 15 to 20 minutes drive to Alton Towers through the villages and country roads.

Ours was a family room with a double bed and two single beds. The beds were big and comfortable with soft pillows. Plenty of space between the beds and around. There were two chairs, a tall wardrobe with an iron inside, two large mirrors, wall mounted TV, kettle, tea cups, tea/coffee making things, alarm clock, bedside lamps, towels, etc. The bathroom was clean and spacious with a medium sized shower cubicle.

I think all bedrooms are upstairs and ours was facing the front of the hotel. There isn't a view as such in the front but the rooms at the back have view to their garden which has birds and outdoor seating area. We didn't have time to sit around enjoy the outdoor as we had a packed schedule for Alton Towers. The breakfast room and the sitting area downstairs was large and had 3 large dining tables with 4 chairs in each, big wall mounted TV and two sofa.

Very well presented morning breakfast, prepared on time to suit guests schedule and taste. Cooked English breakfast included the usual items like egg, bacon, sausage, etc and served on individual plate straight from the kitchen and of top quality. There were varieties of cereals, banana, fresh juice, tea, coffee, milk etc. Amazing.

Please make sure you have cash or cheque with you as they prefer these as the payment options. If you don't have or forgot then this isn't a problem as the high street is just down the road. There is enough parking for the guests at the front of the hotel.

The Ashbourne town centre and the market place are under 5 minutes walk from the hotel. From the hotel as you come up to the main road, turn right and walk downhill and your are in the high street. There is a Sainsburys on left, few eateries and takeaways along the road and then near the bridge there is a Waitrose. If you walk further and enter the market area then there are more shops, pubs, restaurants, etc. On both nights we had dinner at Ashbourne and it was so nice to walk through the sleepy town late in the night.

Overall it was a well satisfied stay at the hotel and served the purpose beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely few days staying at Thistle Bank Guest house. We were made very welcome by both Cindy and John. The rooms were large and comfortable. The breakfasts are probably amongst the best we have had. Freshly prepared to order and very tasty. We will definitely recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having just spent 3 nights at the Thistle Bank Guest House, we could not fault it. A very warm welcome from Cindy and John. We arrived early but this was not a problem. A modern building with everything you could wish for. The room was large with en suite, tea making facilities, plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. The breakfast was great and well presented. I have a gluten intolerance and my partner is vegetarian, neither was a problem for our hosts and we were well catered for. With only a 5 minute walk into the market square in Ashbourne, ideally situated for the many great restaurants. This was our second visit to Ashbourne within a year, our first to the Thistle Bank but we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant stay, a comfortable room and nice breakfast. Very handy for the town but in a quiet part. Clean and well looked after with parking on site. I was made to feel welcome and the price was comparable to the local Travelodge with the added bonus of breakfast! Recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

More than 3 months after booking 2 rooms, I had an email with just under 3 weeks to go questioning whether I had cancelled. On confirming I had not, I was then told they had overbooked & were cancelling us. Whilst sympathetic to the bereavement offered as reason, there is clear evidence of normal functioning of this B&B this year as evident in other reviews so I can not understand how / why my booking ( for 3 generations including our 4 year old daughter, booked as we should have been attending a family wedding in the area) was an 'error' when confirmed in writing through several emails since January. So if you have a booking, I would be very suspicious of whether you actually had somewhere to sleep when you get to Ashbourne.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thistle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bank Guest House

Address: 24A Derby Road, Ashbourne DE6 1BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bank Guest House is a new building built in 2006 specially designed for B&B with all rooms offering the comfort and size of modern hotel rooms, whilst retaining all the customs of a traditional B&B All rooms en-suite off road private parking, wireless internet. Family run,friendly atmosphere.AA *** Highly Commended ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thistle Bank Guest House Ashbourne, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Bank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thistle Bank Guest House to your Saves list