We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and holiday base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Bank Guest House

Thistle Bank Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistle Bank Guest House
Save
You added Thistle Bank Guest House to your Saves list
24A Derby Road, Ashbourne DE6 1BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Ashbourne B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and holiday base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for four nights exploring the area from the 25th of September.
This modern bed and breakfast is run by a very friendly and welcoming couple who go out of their way to help you, should you need any information or advice. We found our room spacious and it looked pristine. Our bed was seriously comfortable.
Full English breakfast was well presented and good.
Amongst other visits we looked at Kedleston Hall and " Pugins Masterpiece" at the Roman Catholic church in Cheadle which were both within easy reach and awe inspiring.
Thistle Bank is in easy walking distance of the town of Ashbourne and well located for the numerous attractions in the Peak District.
We cannot fault the accommodation for quality and value. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A very friendly welcome from Cindy and John, perfect hosts.
The rooms are modern, well equipped and very clean with everything you'll need.
An excellent full breakfast sets you up for the day.

Two minute walk from the centre of Ashbourne, a nice town which turns into a unique and AMAZING place on Shrove Tuesday/Ash Wednesday.
Please google 'Ashbourne Shrovetide' beforehand if you're thinking of visiting at that time of year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here with my 12 & 17 year old 'kids' on our way visiting to Alton Towers (20 mins drive away). We arrived late (9pm ish after a 2-3 drive) to a very warm welcome. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, with 2 single beds & 1 double bed, en-suit/shower. The room had plenty of drawer/wardrobe space with tea & coffee making facilities. Cindy & John were great hosts, who make a truly fabulous breakfast.
After a pretty miserable day of very wet weather at Alton Towers, we have decided to return (just one week later)! I am confident our stay will be just as pleasant. This time we will take the opportunity and walk into Ashbourne for our evening meal.
Please note, I have rated the sleep quality a little low simply because the double mattress was too soft for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for four night over the May Bank holiday weekend together with my husband, sister and brother in law. Had a tremendous welcome from Cindy and John. Large comfortable rooms en suite together with an extra single bed in the room if required. Cindy and John were excellent hosts, and a lovely breakfast to start the day. The house is within walking distance of Ashbourne for evening meals, and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. Also an ideal base for touring and walking in the dales. Will certainly return when we next visit the Peak District

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent so it depends on the size of your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Thistle Bank is a lovely, modern B&B with great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for Cindy, even allowing us to return later in the morning for breakfast as we started work before 7a.m. The breakfast itself is lovely with a good selection from full English, cereals, juices, tea and coffee. The rooms are huge with all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern B&B. Take your pick from which bed you want to sleep in as our rooms had a variety of king sized, doubles and single beds all within the same room! I told you the rooms were big!
The location was also excellent for us as it was only a 5 minute walk to the centre of town where you will find a variety of cafe's, pubs, restuarants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bank Guest House

Address: 24A Derby Road, Ashbourne DE6 1BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bank Guest House is a new building built in 2006 specially designed for B&B with all rooms offering the comfort and size of modern hotel rooms, whilst retaining all the customs of a traditional B&B All rooms en-suite off road private parking, wireless internet. Family run,friendly atmosphere.AA *** Highly Commended ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thistle Bank Guest House Ashbourne, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Bank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.