We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday treat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Duncombe Arms Pub

The Duncombe Arms Pub
Main Road | Ellastone, Ashbourne DE6 2GZ, England
+44 1335 324275
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Duncombe Arms Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Duncombe Arms Pub is a delightful setting in which to enjoy a drink, some lovely food and a chat. You’ll have the ambience of a roaring log fire and enjoy choosing from a great range of beers, a varied and interesting selection of wines and all your favourite soft drinks. Our great food is freshly prepared and we offer traditional favourites with a few exciting specialties of our own – all at affordable prices.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great birthday treat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

First impression is good: traditional atmosphere with real log fire. Second impression is that the service is spot on. Final and lasting impression is of the wonderful modern British food: beautifully presented, interesting combinations and very tasty. We will go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Keith
Thank you for reviewing the Duncombe Arms. We are delighted that you celebrated a birthday with us and that you enjoyed Head Chef Matt's cooking. We are in the process of tweaking the menus so Matt and his team will have some new surprises for you so please call again soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    67
    30
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great night celebrating daughter's 13th birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went to the Duncombe Arms to celebrate our daughter's 13th birthday, we wanted something a bit different to the usual pub food on offer. The pub itself has been renovated to an exceptionally high standard with a very classy finish, with a horse theme in most rooms. The staff and owners made us feel really welcome and took time to talk to all their customers. The menu had lots of choice, bearing in mind my daughter is quite fussy, but she found numerous things she would have had. The food was excellent and it looked amazing how they sent it out, on nice plates and wooden boards etc. The price is reasonable with most of the mains ranging from £11 to £23 we only had a main and a desert which was ample. Definitely will be going again, loved it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Keith
We are delighted you and the family had a nice time at The Duncombe Arms. We are pleased your daughter celebrating her 13th birthday enjoyed the food and having children the same age we know how fussy they can be! We hope you will be back with us soon but thanks again.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Terrible or Poor!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It may be best to decide which category is the best fit. We have just had an appaulling experience at the Duncombe Arms which in fairness to them was recognised as being unsatisfactory and was suitably addressed. However it does not detract from the fact that we waited over one hour before any appetiser (bread and olives appeared), one and a half hours before the starters arrived and a whole TWO HOURS before the main courses came to the table. Only for the fact that we were celebrating a birthday did we not leave and in hindsight we should have as when the food did arrive some of the dishes were really not worth waiting for. A starter of squid arrived with the most miniscule portion of squid rings. The rings must have been cut using a razor as they were so thin once they were fried there was no squid left in the batter. The straw that really broke the camel's back was the fact that after waiting for so long they had run out of items from the menu between us ordering and actually receiving the food without any explanation. As we are local we have been to this pub before and we had made a reservation well in advance for this occassion. The whole experience was fundamentally awful. What was extremely disappointing was that the owner was on the premises and never came to apologise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are extremely sorry that your experience at The Duncombe was not satisfactory. Laura my wife was serving and due to the pub being extremely busy due to the hot weather she was unable to talk to you. We were caught off guard by the amount of people that came through the door that day and as a consequence our service suffered and for that we apologise. We aim to deliver great food with great service so your comments come as blow to all of us who work at the pub but we have learnt valuable lessons from the day you came and hopefully the measures we have put in place will avoid a repeat of the failings you encountered. We hope you will give us a second chance and both Laura and I look forward to meeting you. Again many apologies.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“High quality pub food with a modern twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for a quick meal on our way home and was extremely impressed with the food and imaginative styling of the place. Definately one to add to the list for a return visit. Burger was homemade and very tasty!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Jane
Thank you so much for the positive review of The Duncombe Arms. We are delighted you had a nice time and enjoyed the Duncombe Burger a house specialty, as are our fish & chips which you should try next time. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks again.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Celebating My Husband's New Job!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

What a Most Fabulous Time We all had!! The welcome, service, attention to detail, and overall hospitality that was forthcoming from the bar and restaurant staff, was so very much appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and the friendly and unhurried atmosphere was a delightful change from other similar establishments. Sunday Lunch was a Big Hit with all of our party of 10, and we have already made a second booking for an up and coming family occasion at the end of May. It is such a joy to know that there is somewhere you can rely on for the 'whole dining out experience package', and so Thank You to All at the Duncombe Arms. You have the balance absolutely just right!! G-B party.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Julie
We loved your review of The Duncombe and are so pleased you chose us for the celebration. Sunday lunch is so popular and the team work hard to make sure everyone has a nice time so your comments will make everyone happy. We hope to see you very soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duncombe Arms Pub also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Denstone, Staffordshire
 
Alton, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Duncombe Arms Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duncombe Arms Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.