We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Okeover Arms

The Okeover Arms
Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AB, England
01335 350305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 72 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Lichfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could have been so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I visited here yesterday lunchtime and met up with good friends. I chose this venue having checked out previous reviews form tripadvisor contributors which, in the main, were very favourable and it's location was convenient to both couples. Unfortunately it fell short of my expectations. Little positive ambience in what is a long open drinking/dining area with unlit fires at either end, even though it was a very chilly autumn day. My choice, and that of one other of our group from a promising menu was the belly pork with black pudding which was served with 'real chips' and fresh vegetables. I was expecting slow cooked meat with crackling but was a little disappointed with the two rounds of pork which were undercooked and a little chewy. Pleasant waiter delivered the meal to our table without black pudding which when queried had apparently been overlooked by the chef. One small slice of black pudding each arrived some minutes later having been quickly prepared following my query. Chips and veg. were ok. My bread and butter pudding to follow was another let down - it tasted like a pudding from a supermarket chiller cabinet, with an unexpected texture, although the custard was ok.
As the meal was a reunion with friends I did not make a fuss which would have spoiled the occasion, but felt moved to write this review which would appear to be in contrast with some of the previous reviews on this site. No matter - I always review as I find and can only say that I would not eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    41
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire Moorlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Main course ok, but my dessert was very synthetic and not good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Met up with old friends at The Okeover Arms today,and as it is a bright, but chilly autumn day a fire or some heating would have been very welcome.

The waiter was pleasant enough, and the venue was clean and tidy, but really only average..

The menu was quite limited, but my choice of butternut squash and goat's cheese lasagna was alright, the salad garnish ok, with well cooked and crispy chips.

My friend has a wheat intolerance and there was nothing to suit her needs on the dessert menu.

The Malteser Torte tasted of nothing much, and looked very synthetic..........the only clue to its creation was one Malteser chocolate on top. It was a very small portion, and at £3.95 I dont consider it to be value for money.I think £2.75p would have been a fairer price.

Dont think I will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a b&b close by (didn't know about the hotel then) for a 2 day walking break with our dog. Lovely to see a "children, dogs & muddy boots" welcome sign outside :-) food was excellent; piping hot, great quality and value. Everyone made a fuss of our Schnauzer and also made us feel very welcome. Had one or 2 beers each night (it would have been rude not to) and met some lovely people. Free wifi which was a bonus as signals are bad round the area. Will be back same time next year and will be booking a room here hopefully.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A beautiful, friendly family pub. The roast was beautiful, tender and hot. My husband cannot eat red meat so were originally a little worried but they purposely cooked us chicken. Very helpful,thoughtful and extremely accommodating. A great place for a family meal. Amazing prices. Another good point, for me, we weren't constantly interrupted by staff asking us questions whilst eating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant while holidaying in the area. The pub/restaurant was friendly and 'no frills', ideal as a stop-off if you're walking. We opted for the Sunday carvery and were not disappointed. Not the place for a romantic meal but very good food and very good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Okeover Arms also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Okeover Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Okeover Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.