We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roebuck Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Roebuck Inn
Toby's Hill | Draycott in the Clay, Ashbourne, England
01283820973
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 67 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Cuisines: British
Description: A hidden gem, looks like an ordinary pub serving pub grub, but in fact it has a separate restaurant which serves wonderful food. Great choice, locally sourced produce, home made desserts. Very nicely presented plates and good helpings. Pleasant service.
Restaurant details
Description: A hidden gem, looks like an ordinary pub serving pub grub, but in fact it has a separate restaurant which serves wonderful food. Great choice, locally sourced produce, home made desserts. Very nicely presented plates and good helpings. Pleasant service.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Brilliant place to eat and drink. Lovely pub grub and more. A very good atmosphere. Family run and lovely welcoming people. Very friendly and clean. Great hot food. Have been going there with my husband and sometimes with our daughter and son I law and 3 year old grandson every Sunday lunch since last August. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They have just been awarded
5 in the grading of eating places. Top marks well done. See you next week folks. Very good prices and excellent portions of food. Love it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Function made fantastic by food and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We held our daughter's christening party at the Roebuck on Saturday 19th October we had a buffet for 65 people and the food was brilliant and everyone loved it; definitely NOT a standard buffet!
The owners and staff made us feel very welcome and were willing to do whatever they could to make the day special; even let us take the leftover buffet home!
I will definitely be going back for a meal and would recommend the roebuck for a function to anyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bad Service !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I visited the pub today with a few friends hoping to see live music that the pub had advertised , i arrived and they claimed there was no event happening that night ! Several other patrons soon arrived hoping for the same event ! There was only one young teenager managing the bar , who was incredibly rude to myself and my friends. We then ordered drinks , that took the bar maid 15 minuets to pour ( 2 beers ) in a bar that have 3 other people in ! The service overall was terrible , i will not be visiting this pub again and would not recommend it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“make sure you dont end up in the swan down the road!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were visiting as a group and staying in Granary Court, for my brotherinlaws 50th birthday. On the Saturday we decided to walk to the pub... The first one you come to is the swan so we popped in, 12 of us... oh dear! its like something from the league of gentleman!!! well be having no strangers in this pub!... BEST AVOIDED! however up the road is the roebuck! we arrived a bit
late for food but the landlady came down after her bath and made us some chips anyway! much more welcoming! Pub clean modern, smallish but barman nice and friendly! would definitely recommend!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No small portions here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you want good food and plenty of it this is the place. Lovely atmosphere at this pub come restaurant, which offers a game menu too. When the plates come they are brimming and its all good - this meal I had a ribeye steak and it was super.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck Inn also viewed

Draycott in the Clay, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roebuck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.