We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but overpriced and misleading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandybrook Country Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandybrook Country Park
Save
You added Sandybrook Country Park to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Buxton Road, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant but overpriced and misleading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Cabins are very close together overlooking each other. Booked a cabin with a hot tub which is overlooking the main road, neighbours kitchen looks straight at it unlike the photo with trees behind. Expensive for a weekend especially when using a hot tub with no view or privacy. You would think the cabins with tubs would be at the back of the site, not on the main road from reception.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    33
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
96
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to base ourselves for walking and mountain biking in the Peaks with our 2 children, 8 and 10. We literally booked 2 days before arrival and stayed 5 nights in the basic 2 bedroomed lodge. Not overtly spacious but no means cramped!

It was really like others have described, clean, warm and really well equipped. The beds were comfortable with Egyptian cotton linen and large soft towels. The one and only point I would make is the shower is an electric shower over the bath and not particularly powerful.

All the other facilities on the park were great for the kids, mine are happy playing football and climbing trees - we felt happy to let them play on their own at the park area and the odd game of pitch and putt. They met up with some other children and would have been really happy to just play all day and every day without being 'dragged out' to walk and mountain bike.

The swimming pool was a great addition and used daily by all of us. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I had to use the comunual washing machine and tumble dryer after a particularly mucky day in the hills and the staff were excellent, sorted out washing soap for a mere 20p and change etc.

I would have no hesitation staying again and no doubt will consider again in the future. Perhaps next time renting a larger lodge and staying with friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We love this place. The lodges are clean, cosy and very well equipped and all located with minimum connection to other lodges. The park has a lovely swimming pool, hot tub and sauna each of which we spent considerable time relaxing in during the week. The location is good, just north on the A515 going towards Buxton and there is great access to Dovedale & Ilam via a little road opposite the park. This is our 4th stay here and we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Myself, partner and 4 year old daughter spent a week at Sandybrook and would highly recommend it. The lodges are very good, surprisingly spacious and spotlessy clean. Kitchens are fully equipped, with everything you need provided.
We visited during the snow so our daughter wasn't able to make full use of the playground or mini-golf but we did use the pool which, albeit quite small, was never overly busy. As we visited outside the school holidays the park was very quiet, even though it seemed to be fully occupied.
Sandybrook is a excellent base point for making lots of day trips as there are a number of attractions easily reachable from there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We used the Darwin Forest park late last year, so we had a good idea what to expect. My wife was pregnant at that time and on this trip we had our 8 week old daughter. We have usually holidayed abroad, but our daughter prevents that for the time being. We had another really good week. We love snow, which is just as well as we were pretty well snowed in for the first 2 days. The local team did a good job of clearing the park, but roads throughout the Peak District were closed. We were able to get into Ashbourne for supplies. Ashbourne is not the most exciting place, but it does have a Sainsbury, Waitrose and best of all, M&S Food.

The cabin was excellent. It looked new to us and was spotlessly clean. We had a sauna and whirl pool bath (number 51). No outdoor spa for us unfortunately, I think you need to book months in advance for those. The kitchen facilities were very good. Overall, a good home from home.

We ate a couple of times in the restaurant, which was also very nice. We all enjoyed the pool, including our daughter. The Pinelodge parks work well for many different visitors. We were a family of 3 with a dog and for us it was perfect. But there were many others from couples to groups of friends. You can enjoy yourselves without disturbing others, which would not be so easy in a hotel.

All in all, we are happy to give another 5* review for Sandybrook.

Room Tip: Book months ahead to get an outdoor spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our first stay at Sandybrook, will definitely be returning, good location, really nice lodges with lots of places to visit nearby such as Carsington water, Matlock bath and Bakewell. Myself and my partner and our dog went hoping for a rest full week and we certainly got that really would recommend. Mr Hayes

Room Tip: We stopped in lodge 25 it was a pet friendly one which we and our dog loved, but with the added bonu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Wife and I stopped for 4days cabin was great had hot tub and sauna great for relaxing . Even though it was half term for the school it was very quite will go back again.There is lots of place to visit round about

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandybrook Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandybrook Country Park

Address: Buxton Road, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandybrook Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-star Sandybrook Country Park is set in the former grounds of Sandybrook Hall, an elegant 19th-century manor house. Accommodation is provided in luxurious lodges which sleep from 2 to 8 people. The park has an indoor swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, bar/restaurant and a woodland walk through the bluebell wood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandybrook Country Park Hotel Derby
Sandybrook Country Park Ashbourne, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandybrook Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.