We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant be beaten !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey tree

Monkey tree
1 Westmorlands Lane, Wigton CA7 9PA, England
01697345898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Wigton
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Delicatessen, Tapas, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A beautiful Bistro/Deli offering wonderful food & service in a unique setting.Bringing a feel of the mediterranean to the U.KTapas evenings & occasional themed nightsFully licensed
Wigton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cant be beaten !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you like delicious food your in for a treat but a night at the monkey tree is more than just the food, whether by luck or pure genius this fantastic little bistro has got everything right. Once inside the monkey tree your made to feel welcome by the staff who seem genuinely interested in making sure you enjoy your night, the bistro itself is cosy with a warm & reaxing atmosphere .I would recomend the monkey tree to anyone wanting a special night out & cant wait for my next visit which is already booked .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishka s, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely thoughtful review. We always hope that our customers will feel the care and attention that we show and how much they mean to us; you obviously did. See you soon

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find in a little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Unusual choices for a town like Wigton. Great place to have lunch or just a coffee and snack. Well done for bringing something special to a small, Northern Market town

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishka s, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our little place. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you view us so positively. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jil & Ishka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Four of us booked for a Tapas evening and all came away agreeing we had enjoyed as very special experience. A warm welcome followed by just the right amount of time for a drink and relax before the food arrived. Quality and presentation of the food was outstanding and still trying to " get over" the melt in the mouth sizzling steak strips! Another well timed break until the "afters" and coffees. We gave the bar a bit of a hammering but still came away with a reasonable bill.

Excellent and attentive service, great atmosphere and gorgeous food-highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishka s, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you ever so much for reviewing Monkey tree. We are so pleased that you had a such a wonderful evening with us. The comments about food and service are truly appreciated. Hope to see you back again.

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great quality food and cosy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very surprised at the downstairs tables, quite dimly lit so if you want to see clearly I suggest you sit upstairs! Small place but if you book ahead and pre-order on group tables you will be fine. Our food arrived promptly and was all very good quality. This was on a tapas night and a group of 9 of us went for a friends birthday. The steak strips with delicious but if you dont like your meat rare I suggest you tell them in advance. One of our party asked for them to be done a little more and the staff were very obliging and did this quickly. The Andalusian fries were tasty and the spinach balls had a lovely creamy taste (almost like rice pudding!). We all tried each others dishes and I enjoyed everything I tried. The puddings were amazing, I had the chocolate mousse cake which was divine. I also tried the lemon tart which was very zesty and tangy, and (I cant remember the name of it) a sort of fried custard fritter with was like deep fried creme brulee. Lovely subtle tastes, my friend described it as the best dessert she'd ever had!

Put simply the service was great, the decor was nice and warm and cosy (if not a little to dimly lit) the food was extremely good quality but the dishes were a little pricy. If you are happy to pay a little more for good quality food then you'll love it here. Unfortunately the only thing stopping myself and partner from making it a regular thing is the cost! It wasnt horrendously expensive, just a little over what I like to spend on a meal. (It cost myself and my partner £55 for our meals, a shared dessert and 3 drinks but we weren't as full as we usually are after a £55 meal)

Overall we all had a great evening, we all enjoyed our food and I will be returning! Our compliments to the chef, lovely recipes and well cooked!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishka s, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Monkey tree. We do have a selection of larger candles for tables if people find the light a little dim its sometimes difficult to get the balance quite right. Your comments about the food and service are greatly appreciated and also the comments about pricing. We buy all our meat products from David Paisley in Wigton in order to ensure excellent quality, he is also able to tell us from which local farm the animal came from and when it was sold at market. These things are extremely important to us at Monkey tree, we are also aware that if we didn't have these principles that we could maybe source cheaper meat products elsewhere. However our customers trust in us and in turn we trust in our local suppliers in our town. We are really pleased that you had a good experience at Monkey tree.

Best wishes
Ishka & Jil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Well worth trying!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Two of us pre-booked a 'tapas' meal on a Saturday night- the small cafe/deli with two cellar rooms was full. We tried 6 dishes, a mix of fish, meat and veggies from the menu on the cafe website, portions were larger than true tapas (think side plate size) - a mix of strong flavours (eg patatas bravas and pork/ chorizo pot) and more delicate ( far eastern style prawns and coconut chicken) dishes. We rather felt they therefore had to be ate in a certain order - a minor criticism, as the food was good. But we were still hungry and had two puddings which were excellent ( double chocolate mousse cake and lemon tart). Total cost with 2 500 ml local bottle beers £57.75. Good friendly service. We will be back for the day deli, and an evening ( especially looking to see if the website menu changes).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishka s, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Monkey tree. We were so pleased that as a senior reviewer you found the food and service good. Keep an eye on the website as the menu will be updated within the next 2-3 weeks.

Best wishes
Ishka & Jil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey tree also viewed

 

Been to Monkey tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.