We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wheyrigg Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wheyrigg Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wigton CA7 0DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wigton
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Booked hotel last minute after deciding to take a detour into the Lake District. Unfortunely upon arrival found that hotel wasn't in the lake district as advertised. Hotel is isolated. Rooms furniture and decor are from the 70's. The shower was mouldy and the carpet on the bathroom floor smelt of urine. The food in the restaurant was the worst I had on my 3 week trip through the UK. I hardly slept and was happy to drive away first thing the next morning.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheyrigg, owner at Wheyrigg Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2009
Dear trip advisor
We have had to look at this review for a long time now,and it is the worst review i can think anyone would write.
We are most upset that a guest could have such a bad experience during there vacation to great britain,however we have been spending a substantial amount of money in order to update our hotel and services,and this review is really having a negative impression of our accommodation,i could understand if 5 out of 5 reviews were all poor,but this is the only one,and our business is being compromised ,we have been informed by passed guests that when they booked they themselves check reviews and they were almost put off ,but they had taken all the other reviews into consideration,and were never happier when they stayed.
I don't know how this review can be resolved ,but if anyone is unsurer they can look at all the 87 reviews on active hotels website,and see that this review does not fit our hotel.and we have an 81percent ranking for reviews.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
28
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

My family and I stayed at Wheyrigg Hall Hotel for two nights at the end of June 2008, whilst attending a family wedding in the area.

Having driven from the South of the country all the way up the M6, and having suffered the inevitable delays on the M25 / M1 / M6, we arrived a couple of hours after we had told the hotel to expect us. I fully expected to find the restaurant closed, and a bit of a luke warm reception, but was warmly greeted by the young girl working behind the reception desk / bar, who dealt with signing us in in an efficient manner.

We were quickly seated in the restaurant, and were served good meals, with local meat and plenty of fresh veg and chips. The waitress proved to be only 14 years old, but did a great job with the (very) hot plates.

Our family room was clean, and nicely prepared, with tea and coffee facilities and biscuits for the children. We had an en suite bathroom / toilet, which was again nice and clean. The only real critisism that could be levelled, if there really is one, is that the decor is quite dated, and could do with 'refreshing' or 'modernising', however this is a very small critisism, as everything else was fine.

Breakfast in the restaurant is a selection of cereals, juices, toast and a really nice full English breakfast. The staff were very friendly, and very kindly made a round of sandwiches for our children to eat during the long day ahead.

If we stayed in the area again, we would definitely use the hotel for our stay. Altlhough it is a little worn around the edges, the friendliness of the staff, the quality of the food in the restaurant , and the nice location outside Wigton all make up for it.

  • Liked — The restaurant served very nice food, and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — The decor in the bedrooms is a bit dated
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

The rooms, although simply furnitured, were spacious and clean.
Staff was friendly, but service was a bit slow.

The very big problem with this place is that that the bar and eating room stink grease. And it does not seams to be temporary, during breakfast it smells as strongly, I had to take a second bath after breakfast.

Hope they can fix it, I think the hotel would be quite alright if they do.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Awful smell at the dinning room and bar
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Warm welcome. Great room. Good Food, if a little too much of it. Helpful staff. Couldn't have found anywhere better.

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2005

Excellent Hotel.
Friendly staff who could not go far enough to help you.
Clean room and bedding.
Myself my partner and our daughter stayed in the family room,We had a great day and evening.
The food is Excellent...Especially the Rump steak.
I had a late drink with a few of the local lads and was made most welcome.
The nicest place and people I have ever met and I have been around !
Special thanx to Steve for listening to me ramble on when I was slightly Drunk.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2005

Stopped for one night,yesterday evening,as a friend and myself were attending a 2 day motorsport event in nearby Silloth.

The staff were very friendly,and as we had called in on the way to the event,just to confirm that we wouldn't be checking in until 8pm,they said it wasn't a problem.

The twin room was lovely,with en-suite,coffee and tea,and a lovely view across the hills,and was so peaceful at night,because the hotel is out in the country.

We had the Cock and Bull,as an evening meal,and with desert,and two drinks,it was a reasonable £25.Breakfast was a good old English,with fruit juice,tea/coffee,and cereal,if you wanted it,and really set you up for the day.

Would I stop there again?

Yes,as it was a nice area,and good staff,which is what it's all about.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheyrigg Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheyrigg Hall Hotel

Address: Wigton CA7 0DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wigton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wigton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wheyrigg Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheyrigg Hall Hotel is a traditional family owned and managed Country Hotel and Restaurant where a warm welcome is assured. We have Single, Twin, Double and Family rooms, all of which have en suite facilities and are centrally heated.They have TV, tea/coffee making facilities and there is spacious car parking. Enjoy the cosy atmosphere of our Lounge Bar and spacious Dining Room. Surf the web! Wireless networking is now available in all bedrooms and in the lounge area. The enclosed front garden has swings, slides, etc., to help keep your children amused and happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wheyrigg Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel Wigton, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheyrigg Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.